Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > RC Boats General Discussion
Reload this Page >

Building a RC camera boat

Community
Search
Notices
RC Boats General Discussion Discuss general rc boating topics here.

Building a RC camera boat

Search this Thread

Old 01-03-2021, 08:34 AM
ugetsu

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Building a RC camera boat

Hi all, I'm looking to build a RC boat/raft that I can attach an underwater camera to. I'm completely new to the world of RC so I know I've got a lot to learn and I can't find any good examples of what I'm trying to build.

The idea is attaching styrofoam floats to each side of the camera's underwater housing and use jet thrusters, one on each side to power it.

I'll be filming wildlife, above and below water, so I need the motors to be quite quiet and they don't need to be very fast, just need a good amount of torque to move the large underwater housing through the water. The housing is around 20 kg in air, slightly negatively buoyant, and is 400 mm (l) x 300 mm (w) x 300 mm (h).

Does this sound like something anyone can help me with?

To start I need advice on what sort of motors will be strong enough to do the job and whether I should use jet thrusters or straight propellers? I was thinking of using two jet thrusters which can then be used to steer as well.

Many thanks in advance.
Old 01-03-2021, 08:50 AM
ugetsu

I'm currently looking at:

2 x TFL Jet Thruster 29mm – B54253-D with the following 3660 motor
Motor Winding:3Y
KV:1620kv
Max Current:43A
Max Voltage:40V
Max Power:1700w
FVT 120A Waterproof Brushless Sensorless ESC
4CH 2.4GHz transmitter + receiver
4S 5000mAh LiPo battery

Am I going down the right route?
Old 01-03-2021, 01:09 PM
Got RPM

Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts
Cool

This is a cool project, but it is far outside the experiences of 99.9% of the members in this forum, the best we can give you are educated guesses.