Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > RC Boats General Discussion
Reload this Page >

Help with Autonomous Boat Propulsion

Notices
RC Boats General Discussion Discuss general rc boating topics here.

Help with Autonomous Boat Propulsion

Old 04-12-2021, 01:01 PM
Dochas

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Lightbulb Help with Autonomous Boat Propulsion

Hi folks,

I'm a complete noob when it comes to all things RC but I have set myself a challenge to build an autonomous boat which I'm hoping will eventually (hopefully!) go round the world.

I'm just at the information gathering stage, but my current ideas are to build the main structure out of PCV piping so it is semi-submersible and will auto self-right, solar recharging, some sort of Raspberry Pi navigation and maybe satellite or Lora communications. This is just a hobby so I'm trying to do it on a very tight budget!

The questions I have now is the propulsion for the boat. The 2 main contenders I see it are:
  1. 2x underwater electric thrusters to give skid steering
  2. 1x waterjet pump with a direction nozzle
I think that the main requirements are:
  1. reliable for long running without any maintenance.
  2. survive big waves and not break
  3. strong thrust against currents
  4. low power consumption
  5. easy to build for a total noob!
I would really appreciate your thoughts and ideas so I don't go off down the wrong path.

Thanks muchly!

Dochas.
Old 04-12-2021, 01:41 PM
mfr02

Received 30 Likes on 30 Posts

Step 1 Look here - SEACHARGER - SeaCharger Oceangoing Autonomous Boat - Home
Step 2 Figure out why his had the result that it did, and look for a way round the problem