Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > RC Boats General Discussion
Reload this Page >

Newbie Boat Build

Community
Search
Notices
RC Boats General Discussion Discuss general rc boating topics here.

Newbie Boat Build

Search this Thread

Old 09-17-2021, 09:14 PM
Geakster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie Boat Build

Hey everyone! looking to get some information before I start drilling holes and stuff in my boat....haha

No but seriously, I need some guidance on the build I am doing. I have an older 80's K&B 3.5 Engine. I thought it would look really cool and neat on a 29.5" carbon fiber hull. Also, the motor is on a swivel and has placement for connecting a steering system which is quite simple since it would just be a servo connected directly to the motor by a rod making the motor physically move for steering. I have lots of experience with RC Nitro cars and a little bit with planes but zero with RC boats.

So question one, the carbon fiber looks a bit thin, should I reinforce the inside with some fiber glass? I seen another forum about it a few years ago when I bought all this stuff but yet to configure it all obviously. I seen someone painting the fiberglass spread stuff all over on the inside of the hull. Should I do this?

Question two, will this 3.5 K&B be decent power for this boat? If so how do I got about mounting it? Mainly meaning how far below the hull should my prop be? I was going to 3D print a rubber motor mount to place between the swivel on the motor and the hull of the boat, just so that there was some cushion there and wouldn't crack or break the carbon fiber hull over time.

These are really my main concerns, I design and 3D print stuff all the time so making mounts for every thing to go in the hull shouldn't be an issue for me. I just want to make sure that when I have the motor mounted to the boat, that's its in the correct spot the first time so I'm not drilling unnecessary holes in my boat.
Old 09-18-2021, 07:37 PM
Hydro Junkie