Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > RC Boats General Discussion
Reload this Page >

Can I swap motors for a brushless?

Notices
RC Boats General Discussion Discuss general rc boating topics here.

Can I swap motors for a brushless?

Old 10-23-2022, 02:53 PM
  #1  
919newbie
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2022
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Can I swap motors for a brushless?

Hi Newbie here. I have an Altair AA102. I am frustrated with the short battery life plus one of my neighbors bought a brushless motor boat thatís a lot faster. Can I swap the motor in my Altair for a faster brushless motor? If so,what batteries would I need to power it?
looking for advice and ideas.
I am handy enough to to turn screws and solder. I am not an electrical engineer so please translate the technical stuff for me if you can. I look forward to hearing your thoughts. Thanks!
Old 10-24-2022, 03:17 PM
  #2  
Hydro Junkie
 
Hydro Junkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Marysville, WA
Posts: 10,419
Received 126 Likes on 120 Posts
Default

According to the manufacturer's website, the boat is only really made to run at 20 MPH so being slow should be expected.
Now, with that said, I don't see any reason why you couldn't swap out the brushed 390 for a brushless EXCEPT for the fact that you would also have to replace the speed controller with one compatible with a brushless motor. One thing I also saw is that the plastic prop has a very low pitch on the blades, probably to keep from overheating the motor, battery pack or speed controller.
Old 10-25-2022, 03:08 PM
  #3  
919newbie
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2022
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for your insights. I appreciate it!
Old 10-28-2022, 04:04 AM
  #4  
birdo
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: La Crosse, WI
Posts: 73
Received 65 Likes on 42 Posts
Default

That boat runs on a battery of 3.7 volts. You might be able to get away with increasing the volts, but looking the battery it's not based on anything RC Grade.
Old 10-28-2022, 08:53 AM
  #5  
Hydro Junkie
 
Hydro Junkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Marysville, WA
Posts: 10,419
Received 126 Likes on 120 Posts
Default

I was kind of looking at that too, Birdo. I figured the OP would be told by ESC's instructions how much battery pack voltage he would need to get the boat to run without damaging anything so...........

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.