Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > RC Boats General Discussion
Reload this Page >

New to Nitro Boats

Community
Search
Notices
RC Boats General Discussion Discuss general rc boating topics here.

New to Nitro Boats

Search this Thread

Old 03-12-2004, 01:27 PM
smaerd58
My Feedback: (13)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to Nitro Boats

New to Nitro Boats
I am new to nitro and want a reliable boat to take out on the small pond beside our house. What boat do you guys recommend? I am looking for something that is reliable & I can take out from time to time just messing around.Thanks,smaerd58
Old 03-12-2004, 03:28 PM
Aaronie

Default RE: New to Nitro Boats

I would suggest you get a gas boat, forget about the nitro. If you know what your doing with the nitro engines, then get one, but you say your new to it so....

It takes a lot of work to get a nitro boat reliable. Gas engines are a lot easier and if you have a small pond right by your a house a gas boat would be a lot more fun. You say you want to mess around and that's what you would be doing with a nitro boat. You wouldn't be fiddleing around with a gas boat as much as a nitro (More driving time and less headaches with gas!). I'm not trying to talk you out of nitro, BUT I think a gas boat is the way to go for you.

Check out [link=http://www.whobbies.com]Warehouse Hobbies[/link] for some nice, reliable gas boats.
Old 03-12-2004, 05:10 PM
mayor greez

[8D]

Check out the Nitro Hammer from Hobbico, it's got a good price and is designed specifically for those new to R/C boats.

Cheers,
-Greez
Old 03-12-2004, 05:21 PM
Ron Olson
My Feedback: (1)

Received 20 Likes on 17 Posts

How small is the pond? Nitro and Gas boats need some room to run so if you are looking for dependability then you might want to look at an Electric powered boat. Avoid Radio Shack or Toys "R" Us boats, slow and you won't be able to get parts easily for them. What price range are you trying to stay in?