Notices
RC Boats General Discussion Discuss general rc boating topics here.

help please

Old 03-19-2004, 01:17 PM
bloodtight_18

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default help please

i am new to the boating side of rc i am making me a home made hull right now and i am going to put 2 electric 380s in it i was wounderin how could i do this without getting a leak in the back of the hull i want to put the 2 engines inboard but when i put 2 holes in the back then put the shaft through it what am i going to have to put around it to keep water from getting in the hull? i hope you understand what i am saying help would be very thankful
Old 03-19-2004, 03:33 PM
canadianjosh

Default RE: help please

This is called a stuffing tube. Depending on where you mount your motors determins the length of it, but basically it is a brass tube that is a bit larger than your prop shaft and this is filled with grease to prohibit water entry.
Old 03-19-2004, 03:51 PM
bloodtight_18

thxs man can i buy these off the internet or is there a way i can make them? also how can i make 2 motors run off of one speed control or can you even do this??
Old 03-22-2004, 11:29 AM
Tachikaze

I will be posting a pictural of placing the stuffing tubes into a boat this week. I finished the work over the weekend and will be posting to my site this week.
Stay tuned
Old 03-22-2004, 05:45 PM
bloodtight_18

well i desided i am just gonna run one motor not 2 so all i need to know is how to make a stuffin tube or were to buy one
Old 03-22-2004, 05:46 PM
TERBObob
My Feedback: (21)

Go to your LHS ( local hobby shop ) and get the size brass tubing that your flex or solid drive will fir into as tight as possible , but , without sticking .