Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > RC Boats General Discussion
Reload this Page >

Brand New...boat is coming!

Notices
RC Boats General Discussion Discuss general rc boating topics here.

Brand New...boat is coming!

Old 12-22-2004, 09:04 AM
chezhed
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Brand New...boat is coming!

Hello,
I am brand new to this hobby and don't yet have a boat but have bribed Santa and he informs me that I will be receiving a Hobbico Aquacraft Bristol Bay boat for Christmas. Not sure exactly why this particular boat was selected and I'm not sure it's what I want. I was really thinking speed was what I wanted but I wonder if this would be a good boat to start and learn with. I don't imagine it will go very fast but appears that it might still be fun. Should I keep it or send it back immediately for say a Traxxas Villian EX?

I have all kinds of places to run a boat since I live on the water so conditions aren't important and most of the time I will have very little waves. I'm thinking that in the future I would like to tinker with motors, etc, so what could I expect to do with the Bristol Bay in the future?

And a couple questions.....how far away can I expect my boat to operate? And how do I know when the charge will be going to the point that I need to bring it in? Do you use timers or what? I'm thinking I can always retrieve it via canoe but what other ways do people use?

Thanks for any help...I'm looking forward to this.
Old 12-22-2004, 09:11 AM
LtDoc

Default RE: Brand New...boat is coming!

chezhed,
The 'Bristol Bay' is a ready to run 'scale' model, meaning it behaves 'close' to the same way the real thing would act. It's slow compared to some boats (very slow compared to the 'go fast's). If speed is what you're after, I'm afraid this one won't make you very happy. but, it'll be fun.