Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > RC Boats General Discussion
Reload this Page >

radio interference?

Notices
RC Boats General Discussion Discuss general rc boating topics here.

radio interference?

Old 03-16-2005, 09:38 PM
  #1  
ernest2
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: antipolo, PHILIPPINES
Posts: 523
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default radio interference?

will a chain drive interfere with the radio? i am planning using bmx chain ring and chain. and then i just thought of today that this might produce interference to the radio. any thoughts?
thanks!
Old 03-16-2005, 11:46 PM
  #2  
LtDoc
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: McAlester, OK
Posts: 1,768
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: radio interference?

Ernest',
Is it possible for a chain-drive to produce interference with a radio? Sure, it's possible. Any intermitant metal to metal contact can produce noise, both the kind you hear and the kind your receiver hears. While it's possible, it's also very unlikely that your receiver will be affected by the chain-drive. Even if it is, it's not difficult to 'cure'. Just ground the drive system to the motor's case (same as the caps used for motor supression are).
- 'Doc
Old 03-17-2005, 12:05 AM
  #3  
ernest2
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: antipolo, PHILIPPINES
Posts: 523
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: radio interference?

doc, what do you actually means by "ground the drive system to the motor's case".
well that gives life to the idea, i think i will push through this system. would mounting the radio equipment as far as possible also helps?
Old 03-17-2005, 12:24 AM
  #4  
catalina13
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Versailles, MO
Posts: 7
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: radio interference?

Hi Doc,this is abit off the subject You guys are talking.I have a Older Futaba 4Ch.AM for Aircraft,can I convert this too Boat Frequencys? Thanks.Smitty.Catalina13
Old 03-17-2005, 07:32 AM
  #5  
LtDoc
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: McAlester, OK
Posts: 1,768
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: radio interference?

Ernest',
'Grounding' to the motor case just means to make an electrical connection between the chain drive (mounting bracket, maybe?) and the motor's case. Distance between the drive system and the receiver will make some difference also, but I've no idea how much, can't hurt though. It also helps to segregate the 'kinds' of wiring, power(motor), signal(servos), and RF (receiver), if possible.
'Probability' and 'possibility' are not always the same, so if I wanted to use a chain-drive I'd certainly do so. Then, if I had problems I'd cuss it a while (and the idiot that gave me the advice) and then 'fix' the problem - LOL.
- 'Doc
Old 03-17-2005, 07:40 AM
  #6  
LtDoc
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: McAlester, OK
Posts: 1,768
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: radio interference?

Smitty,
Got the email, watch for it. Still looking for the address.
- 'Doc
-----------------
Smitty,
Found it! There are two address, not sure which is
the one to use, so take a look at both.
'Doc

http://www.hobbyservices.com/service-form-futaba.html

http://www.hobbyservices.com/futaba-rates.html
Old 03-18-2005, 12:30 AM
  #7  
ernest2
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: antipolo, PHILIPPINES
Posts: 523
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: radio interference?

ok doc, thanks!
Old 03-18-2005, 01:49 AM
  #8  
Ron Olson
My Feedback: (1)
 
Ron Olson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Posts: 18,688
Likes: 0
Received 20 Likes on 17 Posts
Default RE: radio interference?

You just know that I've got to ask and wonder why someone else hasn't yet but what are you doing with the BMX chain drive? You're talkng some big gears there. I'm into bikes a little, I have a recumbent and my kid has bikes all over the backyard that people toss out during junk pick-up.
Smitty, you can't do it but Futaba or their service center can. They have to be retuned and it probably isn't cheap. You might be better off buying a 4-channel radio system that is already set up for ground frequencies.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.