Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > RC Boats General Discussion
Reload this Page >

radio problems???

Notices
RC Boats General Discussion Discuss general rc boating topics here.

radio problems???

Old 07-28-2005, 07:16 PM
rcnutman
My Feedback: (22)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default radio problems???

I just got to the part of putting my antenna extension on the lap cat( it connects to make it a metal antenna)......I have never done one of these before....It has a connection that looked like it had to be soldered to the antenna from the reciever,,,,,,,I soldered it and now i can only walk about 15 feet away with the radio antenna down( worked fine b4 i connected it)........I loose all power if i go any further??...Am I supposed to take apart the reciever and solder it where the old antenna went?? I just soldered it to the end of the excisting antenna...I was thinkn i should be able to go about 50 with it down.......Wonder whats going on?? Maybe a bad solder joint??..........Not sure what to do now......I can go about 100 feet with the antenna up.......But still i think somthings wrong..........what do you people think i should do??..........
any help much appriciated!!! here a pic of somthing close
thanks rcnut
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Qo38838.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	10.4 KB
ID:	302772  
Old 07-28-2005, 07:54 PM
Ron Olson
My Feedback: (1)

Received 20 Likes on 17 Posts
Default RE: radio problems???

You totally messed up the antenna length by adding that to the existing antenna. An antenna's length is determined by the wave length (something that I learned back in my CB radio days).