Notices
RC Boats General Discussion Discuss general rc boating topics here.

engine cut off

Old 04-11-2007, 01:47 AM
nitro Ahmed

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default engine cut off

dear all,
see im new to rc boats and have recently recieved one as a gift from a friend, well it is supposed to be a 1/12 hydroplane, it is made in china with all the parts not known at all. any way i did most of the test and checks that anyone would mostly do to rc controlled boats cars or planes, so i turn it on did all the tunning i could to it for the past two days, but when ever i release it in the water with full throttle or even half throttle it cuts off emmedietly, i did everything possible but it just wont move even for 1 meter, i even changed type of fuel, do you happen to know what i may be facing???
thank you very much.
Old 04-11-2007, 01:51 AM
nitro Ahmed

Default RE: engine cut off

also the fuel tanks made me feel a bit suspicious, it is like the one used on nitro planes, the ones i should use a pump for, also can anyone tell me if a clutch could be used in the propshaft to reduse the sudden restriction to the engine.
thank you
Old 04-11-2007, 08:26 AM
Ron Olson
My Feedback: (1)

Received 20 Likes on 17 Posts

You'll have to richen the carb as it sounds like you're too lean. If it revs quickly on land, that's a sure sign. You want a slight lag when blipping the throttle. Give it an underhand toss when launching to help it get up to speed.
Old 04-12-2007, 01:25 AM
nitro Ahmed

thank you for your reply and opinion, but i have tried richining the carb and still no positive result, i think i need to reduce prop size
Old 04-12-2007, 01:53 AM
nitro Ahmed