Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > RC Boats General Discussion
Reload this Page >

Looking for some advice

Community
Search
Notices
RC Boats General Discussion Discuss general rc boating topics here.

Looking for some advice

Search this Thread

Old 04-21-2007, 09:24 PM
farknben

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Looking for some advice

I looked through the threads here and coulndt find anything to ansewer my question, so any help would be great.

Im a total noobie to boats. Ive been in and out and in, to electric rc trucks and cars for about 20 years. So my electrical knowledge is pretty good. I got my first nitro truck about a year ago and Im still kinda a newb at nitro. But Im starting to prefer nitro over electric now.

For a while now Ive been thinking about getting a boat and stopped at the LHS today to see what he carried.

Now Im not sure if I want to go nitro or electric. Would one be better for a first timer at boats?

Theres a couple nice sized ponds around here where I can run. Id say one that about 200' x 300' and one about 100' x 100'. Also I would like to take it camping with me where there are some rather large lakes with some small(1 ft max) wave action.

My options at the LHS are either a Shockwave 36 or Traxxas Villian. Id like to stick with the LHS as I like to sponsor local businesses. But if neither of these are of decent quality please let me know.

So my question is, considering Im a newb and prefer nitro but really know electric and the size of those pounds I will be running. Which boat would you guys and gals(you never know) recommend for me?

Thanks for your time and any replies you may have for me
Old 04-21-2007, 09:38 PM
jetpack
My Feedback: (1)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Looking for some advice

Whatever boat you choose, if it is a nitro...look into one of them big closet storage tubs to keep it in. Fuel seems to get onto everything, especially if you're going to be filling the car up with camping gear.