Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > RC Boats General Discussion
Reload this Page >

flying by the seat of my pants!

Notices
RC Boats General Discussion Discuss general rc boating topics here.

flying by the seat of my pants!

Old 05-08-2007, 07:39 AM
icyuod2

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default flying by the seat of my pants!

hi folks!

my names leigh and i could do with your help. let me start with alittle background info about my project/experiance.

i have very little rc knowledge. a few of my friends have cars/boats/planes. i've seen them close up, experimented with a few but thats about it. (excluding cheeper rc toys found under the xmas tree over the years.

now i've always wanted to build an rc steamboat. until recently the concept has always seemed quite overwhelming.

anyhoo,last week i broke a small mirror and it kick started my model boating experiance. the back of the mirror was coverer with a very thin plywood, and it got me to thinking. this stuff would be fantastic to build a model boat. (to be honest this was the first time i'd seen ply less than 1/4" thick.

with no experiance building boats, no plans, and totally flying by the seat of my pants, i started to design my boat. i sketched it first. after i was happy with a design i started to build the hull out of paper. 4 or 5 hours later i had all the pieces i needed layed out on the ply. its a very small boat measuring only 13" (I USED THE ENTIRE PIECE OF PLY TO THE MAX)

excluding prop/motor everything is from scratch including the design and all the hardware. the horn/flag pole etc i just turned brass rod in my drill and used a small file to do the shaping.
i never really intended to finish this boat. it was just a test to gauge my interest in boat building before i threw down the cake on an rc steamboat. now the boats nearing completion and starting to look like a boat lol, i'd like to see it through and actually use this little boat. (figure it would be perfect for my pool)