Notices
RC Boats General Discussion Discuss general rc boating topics here.

Salt????

Old 05-13-2007, 12:32 AM
-TiVa-

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Salt????

Hello all Im new to boating. Been in cars for like 6+ years. My giirlfriend has a house in navare beach Fl. problem is..... My LHS says to "NEVER RUN A RC BOAT IN SALT WATER!!!" Is this true? Or are only some boats excluded from salt like say electric. Any help would be GREATLY appreciated.
Old 05-13-2007, 12:54 AM
crazy maxx

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Salt????

i run my nitro and electric in salt water all the time. it says not to but u can. just after every salt water run flush out the system with fresh water to prevent corosion.
Old 05-13-2007, 01:36 AM
Kmot
My Feedback: (24)

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Lots of model boaters worldwide run their models in salt water. Some model boaters have no choice other than salt water.

Yes, just clean it well with fresh water after running it.
Old 05-13-2007, 01:53 AM
-TiVa-

K thanks guys. My heart freakin broke when THS said that hehe Anyways thanks again!
Old 05-13-2007, 03:26 AM
stempak

if you have a steal tuned pipe you have to really wash it well!
Old 05-13-2007, 08:30 AM
TERBObob
My Feedback: (21)

Sometimes , asking someone at a LHS is like going to your BEST BUY , going into the computer section , and asking which computer would be best for you and WHY . . ( I , myself , LOVE doing this and insulting them "sales clerks" with questions , that they have NO knowledable answers to .... )
Old 05-13-2007, 02:20 PM
Flabum