Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > RC Boats General Discussion
Reload this Page >

Speed 600\ESC\Cavitating problem!!

Notices
RC Boats General Discussion Discuss general rc boating topics here.

Speed 600\ESC\Cavitating problem!!

Old 05-29-2007, 06:19 PM
  #1  
Mepete
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Montague, PE, CANADA
Posts: 103
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Speed 600\ESC\Cavitating problem!!

hehe...well, here goes nothing.

Me and my friends decided to build a boat from scratch, we were heavily involved in nitro\electric cars so we have good background with the electronics etc......but we had no prior knowledge whatsoever of boats...i mean, never drove one, never owned one, barely saw one at the LHS...well, i did touch it...even though there was a "Do not touch" sign (im a rebel...) a year later... done... testing time.

It has a Direct drive Speed 600\Proboat ESC (the blue aluminum one)\P2L futuba radio....And all juiced by dual 7.2v batteries

What size prop should i use?? any clues??

When i went to the LHS, they gave me one that "Should" would, but when i drive its good at half speed, but when i grab throttle, it just picks up air and slows down... i adjusted the angle of the prop shaft and it still does it....i think i need a bigger prop.. any clues??


And did anyone ever run 14.2 volts on that motor and that ESC>>?? i dont think its recommended


Boat link................long time ago...lots of outdated info...(http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_39..._1/key_/tm.htm)
Old 05-29-2007, 06:56 PM
  #2  
saleens7
Senior Member
 
saleens7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: pembroke pines, FL
Posts: 2,035
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Speed 600\ESC\Cavitating problem!!

i think a speed 600 is meant for 6 cells, not 12...

if youwant to use 12 cells i would suggest you use the super vee 27 BL system

http://www.offshoreelectrics.com/pro...d=dh-blcomboaq

what confuses me is your using the proboat esc on 12 cells, but the esc is rated fro up to only 10 cells..

if your running them in parallel, then thats ok...

but if you are running them in parallel, then you probably have it underpropped...what size prop are you using? when you bring it in from a run, is the motor hot? if it isnt, you can use a bigger prop...

the supervee setup might be too much for your boat....i read the thread, and it seems to be a very light boat...much lighter than the SV, and it will do 35+ mph...with your boat, it might just go too fast that it will be out of control...
Old 05-29-2007, 09:03 PM
  #3  
Flabum
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: , FL
Posts: 915
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Speed 600\ESC\Cavitating problem!!


ORIGINAL: Mepete



When i went to the LHS, they gave me one that "Should" would, but when i drive its good at half speed, but when i grab throttle, it just picks up air and slows down... i adjusted the angle of the prop shaft and it still does it....i think i need a bigger prop.. any clues??

Try lowering the strut to get rid of the ventilating. The angle will dictate the attitude of the boat.
Old 05-30-2007, 07:37 AM
  #4  
pompebled
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sneek, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 2,451
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Speed 600\ESC\Cavitating problem!!

Hi Mepete,

How big is your hull?
What 'this should work' prop, did the LHS supply?

Normally, a 600 motor on 6 cells is a rather tame set-up, seven cells would be better.
The prop we use on a 7 cell set-up is a Graupner 37,5K two bladed hydroprop.

Could you post some pics of the boat, seen from the side, so we can see the propshaft angle?

Regards, Jan.
Old 05-30-2007, 01:01 PM
  #5  
Mepete
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Montague, PE, CANADA
Posts: 103
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Speed 600\ESC\Cavitating problem!!

Sure!..it may be like..3-4 days...thanks for all the help so far!...


Yeah, the motor\esc situation is sketchy.....the motor can handle...8.2V...and i think it is going 14.4V.... and i think the whole setup is too heavy for the boat, it sits low.
The esc can handle 10Volts, but the LHS said they run them 14.4 all the time without a problem...? has anyone here done this?? has is fried??


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.