Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > RC Boats General Discussion
Reload this Page >

Airlines' policy on radio equipment?

Notices
RC Boats General Discussion Discuss general rc boating topics here.

Airlines' policy on radio equipment?

Old 06-29-2007, 10:54 AM
Captain Nemo12

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Airlines' policy on radio equipment?

Hi guys,

I'm planning to make a trip across the border to Chicago this weekend and I thought about bringing some of my boats over. I'm thinking about putting my RC stuff (transmitter, batteries, etc) on a carry-on baggage. This is my first time transporting RC equipment by air... do airlines have a certain policy regarding radio equipment of this sort? I imagine since everything is FCC legal, there shouldn't be any problems.

Anybody want to share their experiences?
Old 06-29-2007, 12:46 PM
Ron Olson
My Feedback: (1)

Received 20 Likes on 17 Posts
Default RE: Airlines' policy on radio equipment?

There shouldn't be any problems. A friend of mine flew over from Australia with almost all of his boats, parts and radios. The only thing that he couldn't haul was fuel. Just to be extra safe you could leave the batteries at home so that they are inoperable.
Old 06-29-2007, 01:20 PM
Justaddwata
My Feedback: (3)

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts

You might want to be careful with what you carry as hand luggage though. Airport security are very nervous with anything "foreign". Any mystry wires, battery packs, basically anything that in the wrong hands could do wrong.

I think it would be smarter, quicker, and easier to have as much in your checked baggage as possible. I have transported a few RC boats via airlines but never in carry on.

I did carry a big old Stainless RC jet pump back from Australia. took 15 minutes to get that past airport security but I was not going to trust it to baggage handlers.
Old 06-29-2007, 01:32 PM
Captain Nemo12