Notices
RC Boats General Discussion Discuss general rc boating topics here.

rc gas boat

Old 07-06-2008, 07:03 AM
iceknight

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default rc gas boat

hi there, Im new to this and wanted to ask a few questions.

would it be viable to put a supercharged aircraft engine into a boat? would it produce a massive amount of power?

would it be a power upgrade to stick twin or tripple carbs on a modded zenoah? or would this be too much to handle for it?

any information would be greatly appreciated.
Old 07-06-2008, 07:23 AM
schnipster

Default RE: rc gas boat

dude i just bought a shockwave 55 and it hauls, but i will tell you, when a boat flips, it aint nothing like an rc car,

1. you have to go into the crappiest water and get it
2. when you do get it expect EVERYING single item in that boat to be friggin ruined! its like th most expensive disposable toy i have ever had

so to answer your question the more power you have the more chance you have that its going to lose control and flip and cost you a million [email protected]!

!!
Old 07-06-2008, 07:40 AM
iceknight

yearh i figured that... but still doesent answer my questions about power upgrads.. :P
Old 07-06-2008, 08:46 AM
Ron Olson
My Feedback: (1)

Received 20 Likes on 17 Posts

Forget the multple carbs. That's like putting a 4-barrel Holley on a lawnmower, it just doesn't need it.
The plane engine with a blower really isn't made for adding HP but to help keep air going in at high altitudes. It takes HP to make HP with superchargers. Keep in mind that most plane engines aren't big HP and RPM motors anyway plus lousy timing for boat use.
Old 07-06-2008, 12:59 PM
Justaddwata
My Feedback: (3)

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

ORIGINAL: schnipster

dude i just bought a shockwave 55 and it hauls, but i will tell you, when a boat flips, it aint nothing like an rc car,

1. you have to go into the crappiest water and get it