Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > RC Boats General Discussion
Reload this Page >

Newbie looking for help and advice

Notices
RC Boats General Discussion Discuss general rc boating topics here.

Newbie looking for help and advice

Old 07-20-2008, 08:12 AM
Geoboat

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie looking for help and advice

I am new to RC boats, and although I have some experience with non-powered planes and some experience with electric cars, I am a rookie. As such, I recently purchased a couple of electric boats hoping to have some fun in my pool. I should have done more research before making the purchase as they turned out to be "toys"; slow, eratic performance, short battery life, etc. Disappointing at best, but I can see how I could have some fun with the right equipment.
Which brings me to my dilema; because my primary playground will be my pool, and even though it's considered large by most backyard standards, any boat over 10"-12" in length is going to be too big. And, of course, it needs to fast enough to be dangerous. That is to say there has to be the potential of damage in a crash or I don't think it's going to be much fun.