Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > RC Boats General Discussion
Reload this Page >

Newbie needs help

Community
Search
Notices
RC Boats General Discussion Discuss general rc boating topics here.

Newbie needs help

Search this Thread

Old 10-22-2008, 04:53 PM
Geoboat

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie needs help

HELP! OK, I'm a novice. I bought a couple of boats for my pool and/or pond use and they turned out to be toys. Disappointing at best. It was suggested through this forum that for pool use I try a Kyosho Mini Cat. Well, it arrived the other day and I patiently tried to read the instruction book, charged the batteries, and launched. It did not run like in the videos I had seen. It made kind of a grinding noise and sort of putted around, then all of a sudden it took off like I thought it should, running smooth. Unfortunately, my excitement was short lived, lasting only a few seconds before it stopped completely. Total run time wasn't more than about two minutes. I noticed in the instructions that I should apply grease to the shafts, but that seemed a little vague.
So, I guess my questions are:
Could the shafts need grease and aren't spinning freely? What kind of grease should I use and where should I apply it?
How long should a charge last?
And any other things I should know that I don't know I don't know?
Old 10-22-2008, 05:23 PM
Dan S

Default RE: Newbie needs help

Geo,

I just had a look at your first post and I am one of two guy's that replied to it.

who suggested that you should buy a Kyosho mini cat????

out of the 3 boats I told you to look at, 2 are pro boat and 1 is Aquacraft.

Dan.
Old 10-22-2008, 05:58 PM
HoaRC

Geoboat, RC is not an easy hobby when you are starting out, but it gets better as you go. Let's look at the kyosho mini cat more closely. I am sure that with a little help from the forums, you can get it up and running.

Total run time wasn't more than about two minutes.