Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > RC Boats General Discussion
Reload this Page >

Newbie here with a boat and some questions....

Notices
RC Boats General Discussion Discuss general rc boating topics here.

Newbie here with a boat and some questions....

Old 02-07-2009, 03:05 AM
96turboracer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie here with a boat and some questions....

Hey everybody, just wanted to post a short intro and ask some questions. I'm a comlete newb at this stuff, so you might have to walk me through a few things. But I appreciate any help I can get.

First off, my name is Sky- and I'm just finishing up my chopper build-

What the bike started off as:

What it looks like now:

If you're at all interested in reading about that build go here:

http://www.chopperweb.net/forum/show...threadid=22238

But anyway, now that's almost done, and I was looking for a smaller project to work on over summer. I remembered that I had an old R/C hydroplane at my parents house still, so I went back a few weeks ago and picked it up.

Here's the history on it. It was originally purchased at a swap meet on the Oregon coast somewhere in the neighborhood of 1992ish for my older brother, he never did anything with it, and I inherited it around 1996, and I never did anything with it either.

The thing is, I'm wondering if any of you have ever seen this model boat before, or could give me any info on it at all?

It took some hits over the years as you can see, but I'm sure the hull itself is fixable:

That's also my sweet green paint job I did when I was 11

The boat also came with a K&B 3.5 engine. Heck if I know just how old this motor is. I do know that sometime around 1995 we got it running, I think it's still a runner, it's not seized or anything like that.

If anyone could give me some info on these engines I'd greatly appreciate it.