Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > RC Boats General Discussion
Reload this Page >

can you lot help me please

Notices
RC Boats General Discussion Discuss general rc boating topics here.

can you lot help me please

Old 02-25-2009, 04:01 PM
spike_202

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default can you lot help me please

Hello all I am new to the world of boating and im looking for some advice I have to boats 1st is a darter king (46') and the 2nd is a high wind 757, and I want to do a project as I like doing them as I have on my cars i have, the darter king as 3 550 motors and the high wind has 2 380s I was wondering if I can use to of the 550s in the high wind with out making any major mods??
And also what can I do to make my darter king to make it a beast? Well fast as im a beginner I don’t want to make it light speed as I’ll crash lol, as it’s a big boat and want to make it more powerful.
Old 02-25-2009, 04:43 PM
pompebled

Default RE: can you lot help me please

Hi Spike,

"You lot', can't help you very much, as the Darter King is the biggest dud/toy that I've ever encountered, it's only plus (to attrackt buyers) is the size, the wobbly ABS hull needs a lot of reinforcing and modding to make it go quicker than the stock 20 km/h, and you mentioned, that was not your goal.

The High Wind has a rather heavy plastic hull and the 'famous' combined receiver/motorswitching circuitboard, that can't be modded.

There have been several threads on how to make this hull quicker, by rebuilding it with a single motor, a steering servo and a rudder, needing a standard radioset.
All suffer from the heavy hull.

Put the same stuff in a lightweight epoxy hull and you'll have a fast electric, the same stuff in the HW hull gives you an electric speedboat.

Simply putting hotter motors in a boat seldom gives you the result you hoped for...

Regards, Jan.
Old 02-25-2009, 04:58 PM
spike_202