Community
Search
Notices
RC Boats General Discussion Discuss general rc boating topics here.

Sucky Nitro???

Search this Thread

Old 06-14-2003, 02:06 AM
NitroMedic
My Feedback: (7)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Sucky Nitro???

Good evening everyone,

I was curious about something. I'm just getting into the boating hobby and was wondering about the dependability of the marine nitro engine. Do you experience many problems with the engine dying just about the time you get 80 ft. or so from the dock?? I 've been running nitro off-road with 20% mixture for my HPI for about 2 yrs. now and I gotta say, it SUCKS trying to keep those things tuned to run!

Also, I'd like to hear any ideas as to what you've done to remedy the retrieval problem. Did you rig up a 2nd electric boat with a tow hook to go rescue the dead nitro in the water, or what?

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks-a-million,
Shayne
Old 06-14-2003, 03:25 AM
Dave Lilley

Default Sucky Nitro???

Here is a good electric for boat retrieval...(Do an internet search on "Hydro Joerg Mrkwitschka 100")...

His electric boat will get out across the lake at just over 100+ mph. Several sites have video of the runs.
Old 06-14-2003, 05:44 PM
Cactus.
My Feedback: (1)

Default Sucky Nitro???

sounds like your doing your tuning on the shore, over heating the engine and then it trys to run the wrong mixture.
start it rich, throw it in, do a few passes past the dock, bring it in slow, then throttle up as your haelper catches it, lean it out till it goes well. worked for my boat now, after i went with a smaller prop that is.
Old 06-15-2003, 12:36 AM
Ron Olson

Received 20 Likes on 17 Posts
Default Sucky Nitro???

At the minimum take along a fishing pole with a ball, fishing lure or something attched to hook onto the dead boat. I always take a 2-man inflatable boat with me. I get them at the local Dept. store for $20.00, a set of oars for around $7.00 more and a cheap 12 volt tire inflator for under $20.00.