Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > RC Boats General Discussion
Reload this Page >

RC Boat Components

Community
Search
Notices
RC Boats General Discussion Discuss general rc boating topics here.

RC Boat Components

Search this Thread

Old 04-11-2009, 08:26 PM
LouisMiller

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RC Boat Components

Hi all, just start by saying that I am completely new to the world of RC boats, in fact I have only started my search for information this evening before stumbling across this forum.

Basically I am looking for information on the basic components required to make an RC boat, I'm hoping to build a catamaran style boat with twin jet pumps for propulsion.

So, sorry this is no doubt a slightly silly question but any infomation at all would be excellent, as I am quite in the dark at the moment as to what is required aside from some form of propulsion, motors and batteries!

Kind Regards,
Louis Miller.
Old 04-12-2009, 03:10 AM
pompebled

Default RE: RC Boat Components

Hi Louis,

Welcome to this forum!

If the catamaran is going to function as a baitboat and speed isn't important, go for the twin waterjets.

If you want it to run like the real thing (fast!), I'd go for surface piercing props, like the 1:1 cats.

Do you want to build the hull from scratch, of fit out a commercially available hull?

Look here for inspiration: http://www.mhz-powerboats.com/en/agb-2/ and here: http://www.swissmodelpowerboatteam.ch/

There are a number of plans you can download for free, not being into cats (at the moment) I can't help you there.
I know the Dutch company RCB is working on a pre-cut kit for a cat designed by Jurriaan, I could contact him and ask about the status of that project if you want, just let me know.

Not knowing your building skills, a catamaran would not be my choice as a first scratch build, way too much opportunities to mess it up.
Build a monohull first, set it up properly and use that experience to build a cat next.

Regards, Jan.