Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > RC Boats General Discussion
Reload this Page >

Servo Set Up Question

Notices
RC Boats General Discussion Discuss general rc boating topics here.

Servo Set Up Question

Old 04-14-2009, 06:49 PM
LouisMiller

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Servo Set Up Question

Hi there folks, after a bit of help with a servo set up.

You may have to bear with me, anyone who has seen my other thread will know I'm a bit new to all this. [8D]

What I'm after is a single servo set up which is able to open two doors on the bottom of a boat at different times. I have a couple of images to help me explain:

Hopefully that can give an idea of the door system, I have drawn the second picture with the idea of having them hinged in the middle of the boat, but that isn't very important, hinged on either side is fine.

Now, first of all how would you suggest this setup could work? What sort of method could I use to hold the doors in place until I wish to open them? and what sort of servo would I be able to use for this?

Thank you in advance, look forward to any replies.

Regards,
Louis.
Old 04-14-2009, 07:01 PM
Deathwish
My Feedback: (6)

Default RE: Servo Set Up Question

Try this simple setup.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Db85261.jpg
Views:	25
Size:	20.4 KB
ID:	1180446  
Old 04-14-2009, 07:20 PM
LouisMiller

Ah I see, well I'm not very bothered about having the doors opened using motors, but using that type of servo I think I might able to set it so the the arm of the servo - instead of activating a switch like in that diagram, simply pushes a latch off a clip.

I think anyway.
Old 04-14-2009, 08:01 PM
Deathwish
My Feedback: (6)

True I used this setup on a boat i worked on for light's and other stuff. Building a bait boat? Have you tried searching for "bait boat" in this forum.
Old 04-15-2009, 06:31 AM
LouisMiller