Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > RC Boats General Discussion
Reload this Page >

Airtronics M11 Range?

Notices
RC Boats General Discussion Discuss general rc boating topics here.

Airtronics M11 Range?

Old 05-12-2009, 10:47 PM
  #1  
Matt_M
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Utica, IL
Posts: 402
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Airtronics M11 Range?

I have an Airtronics M11 which I purchased for my large boat build. I have not used the radio in anything, yet.

Does anyone else own the radio who can tell me what kind of range it will have out on the river? I have a lot of water space, and I would like to be able to open the throttle for a long ways.

Also, Spektrum makes a module for it, but I'm not sure if 2.4Ghz would get better range if they drive to the same power levels as FM frequency. Frequency travels further the lower the wave hertz with output power staying the same, and 2.4ghz is definitely up there compared to FM.

If there is a mod to boost output wattage, I am all for it.
Old 06-09-2009, 12:14 AM
  #2  
badboy2
My Feedback: (13)
 
badboy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: edison, NJ
Posts: 3,786
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Airtronics M11 Range?

get the fhss module thats the version they made for boats or 5th scales i believe.i have the spektrum module and as of yesterday i kept lsoing signal making my killswitch kick in and shuts the engine off.
Old 06-09-2009, 11:05 PM
  #3  
dicko
Senior Member
 
dicko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Adelaide, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 3,507
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Airtronics M11 Range?

I have the M11 & run the Airtronics DSSS module, the range is plenty.  I would have got the FHSS module for it if it were out when I purchased the module (it came out a couple of weeks later... D'Oh).  I have run the spektrum pro module & it is no good on water.  I still run it on my land vehicles though.

The M11 is the best radio I have ever used, & I've used a few.
Old 06-21-2009, 10:35 AM
  #4  
Ghost in the shell
Senior Member
 
Ghost in the shell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stoke on TrentStaffordshire, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 174
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Airtronics M11 Range?

I use a standard FM Futaba 6EXA, and have put a 960mm long Najdade so far across a lake I lost visual, aircraft modellers get around 1 to 2km on similar spec radios

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.