Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > RC Boats General Discussion
Reload this Page >

Want to build my first boat...

Notices
RC Boats General Discussion Discuss general rc boating topics here.

Want to build my first boat...

Old 05-29-2009, 11:16 AM
cgutzmer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Want to build my first boat...

Hello

I want to try building my own boat

I am a long time card modeler and I want to utilize that skill set. I want to build the model out of light cardboard rather than balsa and finish it off in traditional RC boat methods. I am considering skinning the hull with paper as well then using some kind of clear coat to waterproof the model.

Any thoughts on this? I am also looking for some kind of basic tutorial to help step me through the whole process of building my first boat. I am hoping to build a small boat about 20 inches. Either a deep vee (like wildthing) or some kind of round/shovel nose hydro.

Can anyone point me in the right direction?
Thanks!
Chris
Old 05-29-2009, 01:21 PM
sportygreg
My Feedback: (2)

Default RE: Want to build my first boat...

If you register {free} at rcpowerboat forum they have downloadable plans for some nice small boats.I built the Predator and classic Roundnose shovel but used balsa and 1/32 ply.I guess you could use card stock as long as the framework is sturdy.Some plans have step by step instructions.The pdf plans can be enlarged to 100% and printed using current view in Adobe but you have to do it in sections and piece it together.Another option is Kinko's-have them print full size plans from the pdf.
Old 05-29-2009, 01:28 PM
cgutzmer

YEAH! I just downloaded a few from there I am leaning towards wildthing mostly because it looks a bit easier
Chris
Old 05-29-2009, 03:30 PM
rcbif

I'm building my first boat now It's an 18 inch crackerbox (ish) style boat. Check it out here............
http://www.scale4x4rc.org/forums/showthread.php?t=35141

Old 05-29-2009, 03:34 PM
cgutzmer