Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > RC Boats General Discussion
Reload this Page >

RC circuit board help

Notices
RC Boats General Discussion Discuss general rc boating topics here.

RC circuit board help

Old 01-10-2010, 06:06 PM
Guchi

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RC circuit board help

Hi all

I'm a new member here and honestly am ignorant of all things electronics - although I've been building models (ships, aircraft and armour) for many years now.

In the past I've built small (1/600-1/700) scale motorized warships, but I'd like to R/C them now.

So I'm looking for a miniature r/c circuit that can perform the following functions
  1. Turn the rudder (port and starbord)
  2. Power the motors (2, 3 or 4) forward, stop and astern; and (if possible)
  3. Power-up one side of the motors and slow down the other side when the turn command is given.
And all this has to be on a circuit about 1" x 6" x 0.25"

Can anybody on this board build me such a circuit?

TIA

Guchi
Old 01-11-2010, 06:23 AM
mfr02

Received 32 Likes on 32 Posts
Default RE: RC circuit board help

Check out almost any 2.4GHz radio. 1 channel sorts out steering, the others do the speed control. Some sets allow mixing, and usually it all fully proportional. In small sizes liked you are considering, butchered servos make very good combined speed control/motors, you would want three. I have used standard size servos, but smaller types should convert just as well, the big problem is getting a reliable connection to the motor shaft of these small devices.
Old 01-16-2010, 06:28 PM
Guchi

"1 channel sorts out steering, the others do the speed control."
How many channels will I require for speed control?

"Some sets allow mixing, and usually it all fully proportional."
What is mixing? and what us fully proportional?

In small sizes liked you are considering, butchered servos make very good combined speed control/motors, you would want three."