Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > RC Boats General Discussion
Reload this Page >

painting disaster

Notices
RC Boats General Discussion Discuss general rc boating topics here.

painting disaster

Old 01-25-2010, 05:14 PM
R.J. West

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default painting disaster

Today I attempted to paint my Dumas sport 40 U-76 Atlas van Lines using a two part epoxy paint by Klass-kote. Needless to say i have very little experience mixing paints of any kind let along spray painting them. I own no equipment, and went out and bought some Preval sprayers which I used in the past.
I mixed up 1 part of Klass-kote part A with an equal amount of part B. As per instructions so the paint can "induct" I let it sit for about 30 minutes. after the 30 minutes I added 1 part of Laquer thinner, shook up the bottle real good for about a minute and used a Preval disposable sprayer.
The initial results were promising, however after a minute or two of spraying the paint looked like water over a waxed surface. And my potential masterpiecenow lookslike a kindergarten disaster....
Now, my plans are to let the stuff sit for a few days. Its only the rear deck and rear of the cowl that got painted, but I'm gonna let it sit for a few days, then sand most of it off.
My next options are to rattle can it myself...
Or pay an auto body shop to paint it for me....
Old 01-25-2010, 05:19 PM
Dreamin Hemi

Default RE: painting disaster

Being a very experienced painter, Isuppose the first question I need to ask is how did you prep the surface? What is the surface material you're spraying over?
Old 01-25-2010, 05:30 PM
R.J. West

The boat was sealed with epoxy and sanded smooth. Then a couple coats of primer was shot over to see if any spots need reworking, wet sanded with 400, then prior to painting I rubbed the hull down with thinner to wipe off any dust that may be on there.