Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > RC Boats General Discussion
Reload this Page >

need some help on deciding what path to take?!

Notices
RC Boats General Discussion Discuss general rc boating topics here.

need some help on deciding what path to take?!

Old 03-18-2010, 10:10 AM
kodiak400

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default need some help on deciding what path to take?!

I have had rc boats all my life. I am now a college student and have a tight budget.

I have a megatech Caribbean cruiser with a 1/10<sup>th</sup> side winder brushless motor in it. It is 4600kv and I’m running a 7 cell 8.4v 5000mah. I’m not sure what the problem is but it runs for only 5 mins and it goes just as fast as it did when it was stock.. If anyone has any tips please help!!!

Also I’m looking into buying a better boat but I would like something very fast without spending a lot of money. I’m not sure if I shoud stick with electric or move onto nitro? Does anyone have good recommendations on good boats?

Old 03-18-2010, 11:27 AM
R.J. West

Default RE: need some help on deciding what path to take?!

Hi Kodiak400 and welcome aboard!
Electrics I think are alot of fun and a great way to get into the hobby. there are so many choices out there in both electric and nitro. There are also a good selection of Ready To Run boats out there, heres an example of a good choice. http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...I=LXWCJ1**&P=0

Heres a link to Tower Hobbies list of choices... http://www3.towerhobbies.com/listings/cat-b.html
If you already have an electric boat then I assume you have batteries and a charger, along with some knowledge gained from running them.