Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > RC Boats General Discussion
Reload this Page >

Shockwave 26 Brushless.

Notices
RC Boats General Discussion Discuss general rc boating topics here.

Shockwave 26 Brushless.

Old 06-13-2010, 01:22 AM
Richr

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Shockwave 26 Brushless.

Greetings, I am new to this. My wife bought me a Shockwave 26 Brushless as a gift. What are the best batteries I can put in this fine machine? Also, what kind of speeds can I expect and how many extra battery packs should I keep on hand. What are your thoughts on the deans connectors? Thank you so much for the help! Richr totally new
Old 06-13-2010, 03:02 PM
pompebled

Default RE: Shockwave 26 Brushless.

Hi Richr,

Welcome on this forum!

The stock battery for the Shockwave is a 2S Lipo (or 6 NiMH, but those are fading out), which gives you a rather sedate running boat (entry level speed).
Once you're acustomed to handling the boat at 2S, you may want to ugrade to 3S, or even 4S, though that may be pushing it a bit, as the steering outdrive isn't designed for that kind of power and will wear quickly.

Make sure the stock ESC can handle more voltage, ask the seller, or check with Proboat, chances are you'll need a bigger ESC to be able to run higher Voltages.

Deans connectors are fine for the boat at hand, no problems there.

Enjoy running your boat!

Regards, Jan.
Old 06-13-2010, 10:45 PM
Richr

Thanks so much! Will keep you posted. Love this site.. Thanks!!
Old 06-15-2010, 01:04 AM
badboy2
My Feedback: (13)

congrats on the shockwave !!! the shockwave can only run 7.4v lipo..so as long as its 7.4v youre good..
great people in here ...enjoy your shockwave skipper!!
Old 07-03-2010, 08:43 AM
Visual Perfection

On a 6 cell Nimh (7.2v battery pack) you should see speeds of about 23-24mph

Keep in  mind the stock prop is not going to last you more than a run, if even that on this boat...it likes to break