Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > RC Boats General Discussion
Reload this Page >

Painting yellow strips over blue basecoat

Community
Search
Notices
RC Boats General Discussion Discuss general rc boating topics here.

Painting yellow strips over blue basecoat

Search this Thread

Old 07-05-2010, 09:14 AM
JawzSS

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Painting yellow strips over blue basecoat

I am in the process of painting my boat. The basecoat is a blue, however, i wanted to paint some yellow stripes over top without having them turn green. Im new to using automotive paints for painting so I am unsure how one will lay over the other. Im assuming i would eventually get yellow over the blue with enough coats although I am not sure. The blue paint im using forthe baseis from Sherwin-Williams automotive collection and is a two-in-one base/clear.
Old 07-05-2010, 10:02 AM
Dreamin Hemi

Default RE: Painting yellow strips over blue basecoat

ORIGINAL: JawzSS

I am in the process of painting my boat. The basecoat is a blue, however, i wanted to paint some yellow stripes over top without having them turn green. Im new to using automotive paints for painting so I am unsure how one will lay over the other. Im assuming i would eventually get yellow over the blue with enough coats although I am not sure. The blue paint im using forthe baseis from Sherwin-Williams automotive collection and is a two-in-one base/clear.
For starters, it will not turn green. Your blue basecoat has hardened and it's pigments will be completely covered by the yellow, unless of course your using a candy (which I seriously doubt). You may have to apply 2 coats of the yellow to completely cover.

Old 07-05-2010, 11:49 AM
mfr02

Received 32 Likes on 32 Posts

Wait for the blue to dry and cure before applying later coats.
Old 07-05-2010, 01:13 PM
JawzSS

no im not using a candy.. ok cool, just wanted to make sure. This is my first time using automotive paint.
Old 07-05-2010, 05:20 PM
gtopillado