Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > RC Boats General Discussion
Reload this Page >

New boater looking for some advice

Notices
RC Boats General Discussion Discuss general rc boating topics here.

New boater looking for some advice

Old 08-06-2010, 11:45 PM
highlandcrawler

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New boater looking for some advice

Hi all,

I am somewhat new to the world of actual hobby grade boats. I have messed around with different boats of different design since i was a kid and here recently got a somewhat "real" boat. Its a 32" v hull with a water cooled 540 and solid shaft drive. It had foul electronics when I got it . First thing i did was take out all the crap and stuck in a Tekin fxr and a Spektrum system. I am having tons of fun with this boat but am greedy and want more. I'm a rc crawler and scaler by nature and the fast electric thing is a little new to me. I am looking for a patient person on here to help me with some newbie questions. First thing I was wondering is about props. I'm not sure on how they are measured? What are the dimensions that are given? How would I go about measuring and figuring out the prop I have now. The reason I'm inquiring about props is now that ive added a little more power it seems that my boat wants to "burn out" sometimes and loose momentum. Any help would be greatly appreciated and there are many more questions to follow
Old 08-08-2010, 07:29 AM
siberianhusky

Default RE: New boater looking for some advice

"This has been covered many times but is still worth repeating. Regarding Octura props, the letter refers to the blade shape on their more recent props.
X - low lift prop
M - same as X with tongue removed
V - cleaver style blade, pointed
P - non-progressive pitch, lower-lift version of 1700 series

The numbers refer in couplets to the pitch ratio and the diameter in mm.
1640 - 40mm diameter, 1.6 pitch ratio = 64mm pitch
X640 - 40mm diameter, X blade shape, 1.6 ratio = 64mm pitch