Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > RC Boats General Discussion
Reload this Page >

BATTERIES GETTING HOT!!!

Notices
RC Boats General Discussion Discuss general rc boating topics here.

BATTERIES GETTING HOT!!!

Old 08-11-2010, 01:18 PM
tshark35

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default BATTERIES GETTING HOT!!!

can anyone help me please??

ive got a cml tigershark 920mm version and have got a few problems with it !! its got a orion method 15t motor and a sirius 12t esc .Also im using 7.2v packs some of the smaller mah packs are very hot after a very short running time . it also shuts down the esc as if left to cool it runs again , a 50 amp continuous esc is on order . is there a way i can use two packs together to stop a huge drain on a single battery i'm thinking thisis the cause of them getting hot!! (is this correct)?? any help would be appreciated as im fairly new to rc boats .

Old 08-11-2010, 04:23 PM
guver
My Feedback: (325)

Default RE: BATTERIES GETTING HOT!!!

Yep, you have the right idea. You can parallel two packs together as long as they contain the same number of cells (6 each , right?) by hooking the pair of + together and the pair of - together. This will cut the current in half to each pack and drastically drop the batery temps. Make sure to seperate them for charging though.
Old 08-11-2010, 04:49 PM
tshark35

Hi

Thanks for message i will try it and hopefully it'll do what i want it too lol

Old 08-11-2010, 05:13 PM
mfr02

Received 32 Likes on 32 Posts

You can parallel two packs together as long as they contain the same number of cells (6 each , right?) by hooking the pair of + together and the pair of - together. This will cut the current in half to each pack and drastically drop the batery temps. Make sure to seperate them for charging though.
But make VERY sure that they are in the same state of charge when you couple them.  They will even out rapidly, but in doing so both batteries and wiring will warm up a LOT.
Old 08-11-2010, 07:26 PM
n.h.schmidt