RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   RC Boats General Discussion (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-boats-general-discussion-77/)
-   -   Basic (stupid) ESC +2.4ghz receiver question (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-boats-general-discussion-77/11668496-basic-stupid-esc-2-4ghz-receiver-question.html)

numba20 08-19-2019 04:13 AM

Basic (stupid) ESC +2.4ghz receiver question

Hello all,
I'm new to modifying my rc boats. I want to upgrade the ESC and motor brushed to brushless, and higher amp esc. I bought a UDI001 Venom, and tore its guts out and transplanted it into a Walmart/Target Super Air Nautique. Its a cool little build, but the boat is under propped now, and the motor is running a bit hot for my liking. Doesn't go as fast so the water cooling isn't as effective. I wanted brushless before I figured out any of this anyways. So, my UDI001 has a single unit (or what appears to be) ESC/Receiver. I took apart the little black box that it sets in, and it is caulked or glued solid. You can see nothing but the antenna, and wiring going out to the servo, battery, and motor. I was hoping I could take the existing receiver off and use it with my new ESC, does anyone know if this is going to be possible from what I have described? And if not, I suppose I need a new receiver to make it work. I know I will need a 2.4ghz, but what else? Am I going to be able to keep my steering and throttle trim settings? How will this wire in? do I take the wiring leads for the servo from the ESC and run to the receiver and run wiring from the receiver to the servo? I'm lost here.

Hydro Junkie 08-19-2019 09:16 PM