RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   RC Boats General Discussion (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-boats-general-discussion-77/)
-   -   what is better (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-boats-general-discussion-77/5884052-what-better.html)

ezflyer 05-21-2007 06:59 PM

what is better

i was wondering what would be better to use on a wooden crackerbox boat , epoxy or fiberglass and resin? i am new to rc boating. if the epoxy is better where can i buy it at. and how do you get it smooth. a step by step intruction from someone who has done it before would be greatly apreciated. the boat i am ordering is an easy v by the zipp company. the boat is a 46 inch hull. thanks charles

Flabum 05-21-2007 07:36 PM

RE: what is better

A slow curing epoxy such as West System from West Marine or any reputable marine supplier.;

http://www.westsystem.com/

LtDoc 05-21-2007 10:39 PM

Charles,
Which to use would depend on just how much 'strength' and weight you need or can put up with. Fibreglass, because of the material used, can be slightly heavier than just plain epoxy. It also tends to be stronger than just plain epoxy because of that 'extra' weight. Hell'of'a choice, huh? That 'extra' weight isn't measured in pounds, but fractions of an ounce. Not like it was a 'biggy'.
- 'Doc

(I hate fibreglass! Allergic to the stuff. Wish I wasn't.)

pompebled 05-22-2007 02:25 AM

In stead of the itchy fiberglass, I use thin glasscloth and epoxy to strenghten and waterproof a wooden hull.

I usually cut the glasscloth slightly oversized, making sure the keelline is diagonal to the weave of the glasscloth, for easy of applying.
Then I put on a first coat of epoxy, which will soak into the wood to a degree, depending on the wood used.