RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   RC Boats General Discussion (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-boats-general-discussion-77/)
-   -   Want to make a simple boat (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-boats-general-discussion-77/9749062-want-make-simple-boat.html)

TullyK 05-21-2010 08:24 AM

Want to make a simple boat

Hi, i'm new to the hobby of rc boating, but having dabbled in rc cars i would like to have a go at making something that floats. I want to make something very simple that is not expensive and does not maximize performance or looks, just works.

I have heard that balsa wood is good for making boats? I will probably do a lot of custom stuff so all i really want to buy is the radio gear, motor, battery and prop and this is where i need your help.
What motor should i be getting and what size prop do move a boat about 2 feet, at no amazing speed, also i wondered if there were any special servos or if the one from an rc car would do just fine?

Thanks, any help appreciated :)

ROMA-F1 05-21-2010 08:27 AM

RE: Want to make a simple boat

FROM =WASHINGTON= THIS IS MAI IMAIL I CAN HELP... I HAVE,VILLIAIN,V27,RIO EP RTR,ETC.... TIHS IS MAI IMAIL, [email protected]... GOOD LUCK

Ron Olson 05-21-2010 09:08 AM

Balsa is a poor choice to me for building a boat, aircraft litle plywood would be my choice.
For a 2 foot long boat you can use a .12 nitro engine and that'll push it right along and see some nice speed in the high 30's if not more. As far as props go, that would depend on a whole slew of things. You might be able to spin a 35mm prop or up to a 38mm in most cases with the average .12 engine.
Look in my Gallery as there are a couple of my .12 powered boats in there.
The standard servos will do the job. One of the first that I built used Futaba 148's, it helped to make the boat a little heavy but they're more than up to the job.

Bill Gibson 05-21-2010 09:29 AM