RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   RC Car Engines (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-car-engines-272/)
-   -   RC car engine does not start (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-car-engines-272/11677259-rc-car-engine-does-not-start.html)

VicenteChimenes 04-10-2020 01:14 AM

RC car engine does not start

Hello. I got a FTX Torro yesterday and since then I've been trying to start the engine. I followed all the instructions on the manual, primed the engine, tried to warm up the engine with a blow dryer, but it won't start. I thought it could be flooded, so I removed the fuel from under the glow plug, but this didn't solve the problem. The pullstarter is now pretty hard to pull, but warming up the engine with the blow dryer made it a little better. I don't know if I should keep trying to fix it or if I should stop because I might break something, or if I have already broken something inside the engine. I am new to RC cars and the shop I bought it from is closed because of the corona virus, so I cant bring it there so someone can help me.
Any tips on how I should proceed?
Also I watched a lot of YouTube videos but no luck.

D3MON 04-10-2020 06:53 AM

glow plug is glowing? happen to have a spare?
glow plug igniter charged and working correctly?

it should get hard to pull over at the top of the piston travel as that is where it builds compression, it getting harder to pull over means you still have compression.
what does your Idle gap look like?
are your needles set to factory positions?
usually if something on the inside of the engine, you will know. you will hear a grinding, or something obviously wont be right typically.
when trying to start are you holding open the throttle slightly? or idle position?
(factory settings on your carb will be very rich, the engine has a good possibility of stalling many times because of this, but it should run at factory settings.

VicenteChimenes 04-10-2020 07:03 AM