Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Cars, Buggies, Trucks, Tanks and more > RC Car General Discussions
Reload this Page >

Traction on outdoor loose track "Help"

Notices
RC Car General Discussions This forum is for all general discussions related to radio control cars. Check forums below for more specific categories if applicable.

Traction on outdoor loose track "Help"

Old 06-30-2012, 10:51 PM
themilobox

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Traction on outdoor loose track "Help"

Hello, my name is Thomas and im new to RC Universe.

I was looking for some help. I have been into RCs for a long while but always been a basher. Im 37 an been playing around since the 80's.
I have recently been going to a local track that is open to the public and the conditions are very loose.
My question has to do with Traction. I am currently running a 1/10 4wd buggy and I cant get any front wheel traction at all.. The ass end keeps kicking out on me. However, my double edge sword is this, I am running 37 weight oil in the shocks for dampening because when I hit the table top or any larger jump I bottom out majorly hard. Correct me if im wrong but if I soften up the suspention ill get more traction? However if I do I suffer bad bottom outs. Do I soften and just hit the jumps slower? Do I soften the springs and keep the dampening. Im so lost at this stuff. So basicaly how do I get my front to dig in, stop my ass end from kickin out at the same time not destroying my buggie on 4 foot landings. FYI Im not being hard on the throttle to make this happen. The track is just like an ice rink to my vehicle lol.Also I know that tire selection comes into play but Im running Bowtie treads med soft so I shouldnt be in bad shape there. Am I?

If anyone could help me I would be so thankful.

so recap : Need alot more traction/steering in the front end at the same time not having earth shattering bottom outs. BTW my little 10th scale buggy having an aluminum chassis is twice the weight of a slash 4x4....