Notices
RC Car General Discussions This forum is for all general discussions related to radio control cars. Check forums below for more specific categories if applicable.

this a good electric drift?

Old 01-03-2014, 08:27 PM
MrShinyPig

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default this a good electric drift?

Total newb here, currently got a hpi wr8 flux 1/8, its a good car, just dissapointed since its a akward size no wheels/bodys fit, so i decided to get a 1/10 hpi sprint 2 drift from here: http://www.rc-tradingpost.com/7427-h...riftsport.html

So i got a few questions
1) is it a good car? My wr8flux was good, but it lasts about 30 minutes before something breaks
2) i noticed its a low maintenance brushed, how much do these break? My current one hasnt broke once with over 50 hours of use
3) can i replace the motor with a brushless?
4) what battery would you recommend for speed? I like speed
5) http://www.rc-tradingpost.com/hpi3319.html there is 3 types of this wheel, 3mm offset, 6mm and 9mm, what does this mean?
6) finally, if i put touring car tires on it how well would it handle? And what speeds could it possibly get to

Again sorry for the questions, i understand if no one helps , but im a total newb right now
Old 01-03-2014, 08:50 PM
SyCo_VeNoM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Its belt drive unless you plan to make sure the place you are running is clean (like take a broom and sweep the parking lot) go shaft drive. Cause if a pebble gets knocked up it will snap the belt.

Here are 2 of them for $239
http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...&I=LXBLWF&P=ML
http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...&I=LXBKFJ&P=ML

Could just buy your own body, and paint it for an additional $25, and still have the original one to trash while driving for when it flips.

Also drift cars you don't want BL in from my understanding as it makes them almost impossible to control

Honestly if you like speed I'd just get a Touring car as a drift car won't quench that thirst.