Notices
RC Car General Discussions This forum is for all general discussions related to radio control cars. Check forums below for more specific categories if applicable.

Recommendations please

Old 09-30-2014, 01:37 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Recommendations please

Hi all, new guy here!!

I bought my son an off road electric monster truck when he was 4 - a little early as this thing went about 30mph and soon had pieces missing. Anyway, after a lot of repair work over the last 5 years it has finally given up and gone to the remote control scrap heap in the sky. So this is where I'm after some advice...he wants a new one and I'm looking at around 100 budget (could be a little more). He wants it to be an off road style as he loves ripping it over diet jumps and through mud. I'm a complete novice so it needs to be easy to maintain and have good parts available. Also good battery life, but pretty fast too!!

So not a lot to ask which is why I need your advice ....??
Old 09-30-2014, 01:51 PM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

up the cost some

HPI Wheely king is a pretty good low cost monster truck(not sure how much it costs in the UK though).
Its water proof, has 4 inch tall tires, and works pretty well. I used to drive mine through the snow, and it was a blast (needed its parts for another project)
Old 10-01-2014, 09:26 AM

Thanks for the advice, think that may be a little pricy as I'm sure it will be damaged within a few hours but I've heard good things about HPI so I might have a look on their website. Thanks again.
Old 10-01-2014, 09:47 AM
My Feedback: (1)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

The only thing about HPI is that their cars, for some reason, have become a real hit-or-miss on quality. The Wheely King being one of the few that seem to be ok, along with the Savage. Maybe take a look at the ECX Ruckus. Or the Arrma Granite. They can be had for under $200 here.
Old 10-01-2014, 11:45 AM