Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Cars, Buggies, Trucks, Tanks and more > RC Car General Discussions
Reload this Page >

Traxxas Bandit xl-5 vs. Redcat Racing Tornado epx pro

Notices
RC Car General Discussions This forum is for all general discussions related to radio control cars. Check forums below for more specific categories if applicable.

Traxxas Bandit xl-5 vs. Redcat Racing Tornado epx pro

Old 12-10-2016, 08:31 AM
CtrlAltDelete55

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Traxxas Bandit xl-5 vs. Redcat Racing Tornado epx pro

I am just wondering which one I should purchase with both being pretty much the same amount of money. I am aware that the Tornado is brushless and 4wd although the stock battery it comes with is no good. The bandit however, is brushed and is Rwd but has the traxxas support from a dealer near me. I am relatively new to the rc hobby so this is a hard choice for me. Any help with which one will perform better and be more fun for just driving around the dirt trails and streets in my neighborhood? Also which one will require less maintenance and be able to take a greater bashing. Thanks
Old 12-10-2016, 02:24 PM
RustyUs

Received 30 Likes on 28 Posts

Mainly running on smooth off-road type surfaces...Bandit hands down. I love bashing 2wd buggies. There is something about the simplicity of them; throwing rooster-tails in the dirt, and grabbing some air. I'm fortunate enough to have my own off-road track to run on. If I didn't have the track, I'd be limited to driveway, baseball fields, parks, and what not. If running on rougher terrain, then I'd start looking at stadium/short course trucks. I wouldn't recommend Redcat Racing as a first RC. I'd rather see someone spend a bit more and have good parts support.