Notices
RC Car General Discussions This forum is for all general discussions related to radio control cars. Check forums below for more specific categories if applicable.

I need help with a nitro truck

Old 11-07-2021, 01:57 PM
  #1  
Billy_196
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2021
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default I need help with a nitro truck

Hi im hoping someone can help me out. I have a nitro truck and I just put a brand new engine in it and it only ran about half a gal of gas and I can't get it to run right. Whenever I hit the gas it will sound great and then just cut off out of no where. I can only get it to go 20 feet or so before it stalls. It idals great and everything, I just can't keep it running after I hit the gas. I did find a cracked fuel line and replaced it but that didn't seem to fix anything. I set the carb to factory and even that didn't do the trick. The compression seams great to me. If anyone has and idea that might help me out please let me know.
Old 11-10-2021, 11:01 PM
  #2  
badboy2
My Feedback: (13)
 
badboy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: edison, NJ
Posts: 3,786
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

try changing the glow plug ...does it die when u hit gas?
Old 11-11-2021, 09:00 AM
  #3  
Big Alice
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Wenatchee, WA
Posts: 459
Received 12 Likes on 12 Posts
Default

Factory specs are generally very rich. You might try leaning it a bit. And like Badboy2 said, change the plug. Especially if it's the original plug.

Last edited by Big Alice; 11-11-2021 at 09:02 AM.
Old 12-04-2021, 09:44 AM
  #4  
radia
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2021
Posts: 1
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Changing the plug may help.
Old 12-16-2021, 10:44 AM
  #5  
mattster1971
 
mattster1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Glen Burnie, MD
Posts: 669
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Too me, it sounds like it could be a clutch issue if its not a fuel delivery issue. How did the break in period go? Did it idle fine?
Old 12-17-2021, 05:10 AM
  #6  
1QwkSport2.5r
 
1QwkSport2.5r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Cottage Grove, MN
Posts: 10,054
Received 29 Likes on 29 Posts
Default

If you break the engine in correctly, you should not need to replace the plug. ABC engines do not shed particles when they break in unless your fuel (the oil in actually) is of poor quality. This is especially true for fuels that are predominantly containing synthetic oil in the lube package. Ringed engines and lapped iron/steel constructions do however shed particles as they break in.
Old 12-18-2021, 06:59 AM
  #7  
Big Alice
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Wenatchee, WA
Posts: 459
Received 12 Likes on 12 Posts
Default

I change the plug after a break in just as a matter of course. Might not need it but it gets done anyway. kinda like changing the oil after I break in a new engine in my car.
Old 12-18-2021, 11:04 AM
  #8  
1QwkSport2.5r
 
1QwkSport2.5r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Cottage Grove, MN
Posts: 10,054
Received 29 Likes on 29 Posts
Default

I only change it if it needs it. I have over 3 gallons on the original factory plug that came in my Novarossi Rex Legend 28-8RT (now called the Truggy 28-8RT under the Novarossi name instead of the Rex name). At $15 a pop or better, I’ll run them until they won’t run anymore (reliably). If I were racing specifically, I might think differently.. I mean.. money is no object to sponsored racers, so their opinions are very much biased and less trustworthy.
Old 12-19-2021, 12:21 AM
  #9  
Big Alice
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Wenatchee, WA
Posts: 459
Received 12 Likes on 12 Posts
Default

I can afford a few bucks for a new plug after a break in. I don't use 15. dollar plugs. In my opinion, with the problem he described, my advice is to lean it a little and change out the plug. I'm not here to debate when to change a plug, just giving him some advice.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.