Notices
RC Car General Discussions This forum is for all general discussions related to radio control cars. Check forums below for more specific categories if applicable.

Losi ten t Ross help

Old 11-05-2022, 07:48 PM
  #1  
Anything rc is fun
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 9
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Losi ten t Ross help

Hello, large losi ten t fan here. I recently purchased a ten t, however itís a roller, just has servos. Which isnít an issue, anyways I needed a motor and Ross system, have the motor and I thought I had a Ross. I bought a new battery (2000 mah 2s) as the old one was fried. I had Ross on my jato and it worked fine, itís only been a year or 2 since, now that Ross unit wonít turn over the motor, servos work. Thought maybe it broke over the years, so I tried another one(not sure if this one actually had a problem as it looks previously modded) also didnít work, finally I was done, cleaning up and I found a 3rd one, in even better nik. Tried it and once again fail.

so Iím at a loss here, Iíve tried another gearbox/motor, another harness, and a different receiver and Iím lost. So if any of you have an idea whatís wrong I would love to hear it. Thanks!

btw I have a spectrum dx4s, a spektrum receiver (not sure which one exactly) and did program the f button on the remote to the Ross.

Thank you!
Old 11-06-2022, 04:42 AM
  #2  
1QwkSport2.5r
 
1QwkSport2.5r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Cottage Grove, MN
Posts: 10,366
Received 71 Likes on 65 Posts
Default

I would suggest isolating the ROSS system by removing the radio to narrow it down to either the ROSS system itself or if it’s a radio issue. That is of course if the ROSS motor itself isn’t turning. If the motor turns but the engine doesn’t turn with it, the one-way starter clutch bearing might be at fault. Power the ROSS motor direct to a battery.

One faulty unit is one thing; that’s reasonable to be bad. But three, some of which are new or of little use, unlikely to all be bad. I would lean towards an issue with the radio, but you will want to put your inspector gadget hat on and do some investigating.
Old 11-06-2022, 06:44 AM
  #3  
Anything rc is fun
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 9
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

How do I isolate it, since you need the radio to tell it to turn over.
Old 11-06-2022, 07:13 AM
  #4  
Big Alice
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Wenatchee, WA
Posts: 527
Received 21 Likes on 20 Posts
Default

Jumper wire it straight to the battery;
Old 11-06-2022, 07:16 AM
  #5  
Anything rc is fun
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 9
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Well the way the Ross works is it goes from the battery to the Ross unit then a servo type wire into the receiver, I know the motor is good, so where do I go from here
Old 11-06-2022, 12:05 PM
  #6  
Big Alice
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Wenatchee, WA
Posts: 527
Received 21 Likes on 20 Posts
Default

[QUOTE

btw I have a spectrum dx4s, a spektrum receiver (not sure which one exactly) and did program the f button on the remote to the Ross.

Thank you![/QUOTE]

Can you program the f button to something else to see if it works at all?
Old 11-07-2022, 06:00 AM
  #7  
Anything rc is fun
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 9
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Well I got it to work, and yes the f button works. What I had to do was plug the Ross into the aux1 port and just set the aux button to ax1 2p. Although t you have to hit the button twice, it works and lights the glow plug, not sure why I couldn’t get the Ross to work via the Ross setting on the remote. But whatever, I’ll take it
The following users liked this post:
Big Alice (11-07-2022)
Old 01-18-2023, 09:47 AM
  #8  
Anything rc is fun
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 9
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Another update, this is for others who are having the same problem, as I spent about a month chasing this problem, so here you goFew things, recently discovered these things with my ten t, if you still somehow have this and want to know, this is what I figured out. now quickly I’m gonna talk as if by dx4 you mean a surface dx4 radio system)dx4c, dx4s, dx4r, etc) if you have a dx4 airplane transmitter then I’m not sure about that.

Now basics, First things first, bind your receiver to your transmitter, plug a bind plug into the bind port( if you don’t have a bind port read the paragraph below) and go into settings on your remote, then find the bind option and simply bind it, test with a servo to make sure it is bound.

you need a receiver with a bind port! Unless you plug the Ross into a aux port(in whihc case you will have to click the button once to turn it on and once to turn it off which can end badly if you leave it on while your running the engine without realizing, so I don’t recommend) just get a receiver with a bind port.

Next charge your Ross battery and plug the Ross 3 wire plug(black plug, red brown and orange wire) into the bind/rs port. I’m not sure if you need a sr3300t as that’s the receiver that came with the ten t, but theoretically you should be able to do this with any spektrum receiver with a bind port.

Once you’ve plugged it in, make sure the Ross is plugged into the battery and the starter motor(DO NOT TURN IT ON YET)

Next go into your radio settings, on the dx4 series I believe you click the scroll wheel, the scroll to either model or system settings(don’t exactly remember which) and in the situation neither of those are right, scroll through settings until you find this option, it should say “RS PORT:INHB” at least usually it’s set to inhibit, and if it is, click the scroll wheel to select it and scroll until you find the setting to set it to “BIND”(strange I know, but this is what the problem was for me)

Now that setting is what I have found to be the biggest problems when rebinding to a new model memory or just to a new radio, it did this on my dx4s and dx4c for me, and I spent a month chasing this problem, then my dad pointed it out to me.. so simple, the port has to be programmed to take that signal,I also found that if Ross is plugged into the bind port and you switch it on, it will just try to spin over the motor. so I very very much recommend those two things more then anything, bind port and the rs port setting on the remote!

Now also make sure that the f button is set to “ROSS” in the switches menu.

Now switch it on, switch the car(ross) on, press and hold the f button and hope for the best! Good luck and let me know if you need anything else. Thanks for reading

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.