Notices
RC Car General Discussions This forum is for all general discussions related to radio control cars. Check forums below for more specific categories if applicable.

Schotty Diode

Old 07-25-2004, 06:56 PM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: West Allis, WI
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Schotty Diode

I have a quantum super sport esp without reverse and it comes with a scotty diode.
Do I have to solder this directly to the motor or can I solder it into the wires comming
from the esp to make motor changes easier?
Old 07-25-2004, 07:23 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Santa Clarita, CA
Posts: 1,235
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Schotty Diode

i think it has to be solder onto the motor tabs directly... if you want to test it though just make some little slits in the wires and stick the diode arms in them
Old 07-25-2004, 07:37 PM
  #3  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: West Allis, WI
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Schotty Diode

Thanks. I will be soldering it to the motor. I don't want to mess anything up if I can avoid it.
Old 07-25-2004, 07:38 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Santa Clarita, CA
Posts: 1,235
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Schotty Diode

ya its best not to mess with these typwe of things
Old 07-25-2004, 11:30 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
fhm101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Pinson, AL
Posts: 2,487
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Schotty Diode

Back when I raced electric, it was not uncommon to see cars with the shottkey (SP) diode on the motor wires rather than the motor. Putting it on the wires makes it simpler to change motors without having to have a seperate diode for each motor you own.
Old 07-26-2004, 08:10 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Berwyn, IL
Posts: 200
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Schotty Diode

If you're swapping motors consistantly, a schotky diode is a small investment to make for each motor...
Old 07-26-2004, 12:32 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
fhm101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Pinson, AL
Posts: 2,487
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Schotty Diode

When you look in a pit box and see 40 to 50 motors, an individual diode per motor can get kinda spendy. I never had more than 4 or 5 motors so I always put a diode and capacitors on all mine, but it can be done either way and work just as well. BTW, it was the folks showing up with the 40 or more motors to race in stock electric that caused me to lose interest in electric.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.