Notices
RC Car General Discussions This forum is for all general discussions related to radio control cars. Check forums below for more specific categories if applicable.

twin carbs

Old 04-05-2008, 01:47 PM
  #1  
rcpowerhorse
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
rcpowerhorse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Newcastle UK
Posts: 579
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default twin carbs

i was just wondering can you mount two carbs on one nitro and if you can would you get a performance boost??
Old 04-05-2008, 02:30 PM
  #2  
Codeblack
Senior Member
 
Codeblack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Toronto, ON, CANADA
Posts: 1,279
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: twin carbs

no.... no no no no no...











no
Old 04-05-2008, 02:48 PM
  #3  
The_Collector
Senior Member
 
The_Collector's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Reading, PA
Posts: 1,381
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: twin carbs

Only a multi-cylinder engine can take advantage of a multi-carb. setup.
Old 04-05-2008, 03:17 PM
  #4  
ProRCRacer88
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,938
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: twin carbs

of coarse you can, but it will add weight, take up space, and do not a damn thing but screw things up...
Old 04-05-2008, 03:44 PM
  #5  
annie_himself
Senior Member
 
annie_himself's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Prairiville, LA
Posts: 6,254
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: twin carbs

You can use CA to put it on the cooling head but I don't thing the air will reach the chamber.
Old 04-05-2008, 05:54 PM
  #6  
Xtfreak
Senior Member
 
Xtfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,049
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: twin carbs

Come on guys he's just asking a simple question.......................................... ............umm the answer is no....no....no...and no again
Old 04-05-2008, 06:06 PM
  #7  
The_Shark
Senior Member
 
The_Shark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Plainfield, IL
Posts: 7,163
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: twin carbs

nope it wont work, but a bigger carb will help, but too much mixture in a engine that isnt tolerated for that will most likely break. plus youd have to bore the intakes to use the bigger carb and shim the engine along with a different temp glow plug.

its just like dual exhaust on these things, they dont do a damn thing but loose scavenging from lack of back pressure.
Old 04-05-2008, 07:40 PM
  #8  
adam-69
Senior Member
 
adam-69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: belfast, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,451
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: twin carbs

where did you think of mounting it? the answer is no but i dont know how you meant it to work? [&:]
Old 04-06-2008, 12:23 AM
  #9  
rcpowerhorse
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
rcpowerhorse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Newcastle UK
Posts: 579
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: twin carbs

alright i was just wondering
Old 04-06-2008, 01:17 AM
  #10  
BUGGIES_R_US
 
BUGGIES_R_US's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Norcross, GA
Posts: 3,342
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: twin carbs

Maybe a sequential twin carb makes sense

No, single is best.
Old 04-06-2008, 04:43 AM
  #11  
rcpowerhorse
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
rcpowerhorse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Newcastle UK
Posts: 579
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: twin carbs

but wait have any of you tried it??
Old 04-06-2008, 11:11 AM
  #12  
Codeblack
Senior Member
 
Codeblack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Toronto, ON, CANADA
Posts: 1,279
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: twin carbs


ORIGINAL: rcpowerhorse

but wait have any of you tried it??
no need to.. you would need more displacement to handle a larger amount of air/fuel.
Old 04-06-2008, 11:16 AM
  #13  
GYNAIKAS
Senior Member
 
GYNAIKAS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Athens/Patras, GREECE
Posts: 3,678
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: twin carbs

No way...no boost. Actually it will never work...
Old 04-06-2008, 11:26 AM
  #14  
rcpowerhorse
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
rcpowerhorse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Newcastle UK
Posts: 579
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: twin carbs

ah right

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.