Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Cars, Buggies, Trucks, Tanks and more > RC Car General Discussions
 Anyone using TMaxx shocks on their Viper? >

Anyone using TMaxx shocks on their Viper?

Notices
RC Car General Discussions This forum is for all general discussions related to radio control cars. Check forums below for more specific categories if applicable.

Anyone using TMaxx shocks on their Viper?

Old 04-14-2008, 09:41 AM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: North Canton, OH
Posts: 741
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Anyone using TMaxx shocks on their Viper?

If so, which dampener are you using - 1, 2 or 3 holes?

Did you use the stock oil that came with them or something different?

What are the preload spacers used for?

Thanks!
Old 04-14-2008, 09:46 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Lordmik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: jackson, TN
Posts: 242
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Anyone using TMaxx shocks on their Viper?

I''m using the tmaxx shocks on my eldorada, which I think is similar to the viper. They work great. I''m using the two hole dampers with stock oil in the shocks. I''m not running any preload spacers, they''re pretty stiff to begin with.
Old 04-14-2008, 09:48 AM
  #3  
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: howard beach, NY
Posts: 16,490
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Anyone using TMaxx shocks on their Viper?

Hi,

I personally dont use them on my eldorada or viper but i do have it on my tmaxx, i would suggest the 2 hole one with a medium shock oil, would be good for all around running. The preload spacers are clipped above the shock to keep more tension on the spring.

Kuppler and redharris have the tmaxx shocks on their trucks, i am sure they will chime in with their setups and give some suggestions.
Old 04-14-2008, 11:45 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
kuppler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Simi Valley, CA
Posts: 2,909
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Anyone using TMaxx shocks on their Viper?

ORIGINAL: bkfamily1

If so, which dampener are you using - 1, 2 or 3 holes?

Did you use the stock oil that came with them or something different?

What are the preload spacers used for?

Thanks!
Hello,
I have the Tmax Shocks on my RC...Check out the pics.....

you will need to get a bag of 3mmx20mm you can get them from your LHS.
and the spacers come with the TMaxx shocks when you buy them...
here is a link to some shocks on ebay that have the spacers and all.. [link=http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-T-MAXX-3-3-2-5-15-SHOCKS-GRAY-8-COMPLETE-E-TMAXX_W0QQitemZ250234585678QQihZ015QQcategoryZ4402 8QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem]CLICK HERE[/link]
you will have to do a small modification... but its easy......
if you have any questiong about this mod... PM me or Redharris... we will be happy to help you out..
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Rp43889.jpg
Views:	13
Size:	70.1 KB
ID:	928756   Click image for larger version

Name:	Rm37138.jpg
Views:	16
Size:	78.1 KB
ID:	928757   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ek15356.jpg
Views:	13
Size:	69.4 KB
ID:	928758   Click image for larger version

Name:	Pj19192.jpg
Views:	20
Size:	76.6 KB
ID:	928759   Click image for larger version

Name:	Eq87471.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	66.3 KB
ID:	928760   Click image for larger version

Name:	Mc50147.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	57.4 KB
ID:	928761  
Old 04-14-2008, 12:02 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
kuppler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Simi Valley, CA
Posts: 2,909
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Anyone using TMaxx shocks on their Viper?

here is a few more pics.....of my shock mod.. with the after market shock towers...
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Cz79927.jpg
Views:	16
Size:	90.9 KB
ID:	928774   Click image for larger version

Name:	Up48369.jpg
Views:	18
Size:	95.0 KB
ID:	928775   Click image for larger version

Name:	Jp32459.jpg
Views:	16
Size:	91.3 KB
ID:	928776   Click image for larger version

Name:	Rl25078.jpg
Views:	16
Size:	90.9 KB
ID:	928777   Click image for larger version

Name:	Fq87748.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	96.6 KB
ID:	928778  
Old 04-14-2008, 12:53 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: North Canton, OH
Posts: 741
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Anyone using TMaxx shocks on their Viper?

Thanks to all for their input. Between these recent posts and others you have made, I have a pretty good idea of what to do. I am a bit uncertain how the spacing will work out to avoid hitting the radio case and front upper A arm. But I will jump in and give it some good old trial and error. I will let you know how it comes out. And if I can master my macro mode to avoid blurry pics, I will post some of the results.

Thanks!
Old 04-14-2008, 01:10 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
kuppler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Simi Valley, CA
Posts: 2,909
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Anyone using TMaxx shocks on their Viper?

sweet.. cant wait to see some pics... and you know if you have any questions.. we are all here to help you out bro.....


Adam
Old 04-14-2008, 09:19 PM
  #8  
 
Redharris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Panorama, CA
Posts: 2,137
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Anyone using TMaxx shocks on their Viper?

I use the 3 hole dampers and No preload Spacers. Tmax shocks are pretty stiff, no need for preload.
Old 04-22-2008, 03:47 PM
  #9  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: North Canton, OH
Posts: 741
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Anyone using TMaxx shocks on their Viper?

Just thought I would let you know I got the Maxx shocks on and working great. Thanks for the help. Hopefully I can find the time to try adding photos. I have the stock oil that came with them and the 2 hole dampers. They are definitely much stiffer. I am not bottoming out when jumping any more. But the truck wants to try and roll when cornering hard. I think I may try the 3 hole dampers to soften them up a little or a lighter weight oil. But they are definitely an improvement over the stock shocks. And now I can repair the individual parts instead of having to replace the whole shock.
Old 04-22-2008, 05:19 PM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
perhamrocks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Perham, MN
Posts: 554
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Anyone using TMaxx shocks on their Viper?


ORIGINAL: kuppler

ORIGINAL: bkfamily1

If so, which dampener are you using - 1, 2 or 3 holes?

Did you use the stock oil that came with them or something different?

What are the preload spacers used for?

Thanks!
Hello,
I have the Tmax Shocks on my RC...Check out the pics.....

you will need to get a bag of 3mmx20mm you can get them from your LHS.
and the spacers come with the TMaxx shocks when you buy them...
here is a link to some shocks on ebay that have the spacers and all.. [link=http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-T-MAXX-3-3-2-5-15-SHOCKS-GRAY-8-COMPLETE-E-TMAXX_W0QQitemZ250234585678QQihZ015QQcategoryZ4402 8QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem]CLICK HERE[/link]
you will have to do a small modification... but its easy......
if you have any questiong about this mod... PM me or Redharris... we will be happy to help you out..
i was able to use the 3x15mm screws that came with it along with the spacers, then for the attachment to the lower arms i just used the screws from my old shocks, i didnt' have to bolt the baterry box on either with these smaller screws. All i did was grind the screw on the battery box down a little, then grind dow the piece of the battery casing that was in the way, they work great.
Here's a video of them in action. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=72KWf8OGXtE
Old 04-22-2008, 05:31 PM
  #11  
Senior Member
 
Macanan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: New Tazewell, TN
Posts: 1,348
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Anyone using TMaxx shocks on their Viper?

Great jumps, looks like the shock's did very good for you.
Old 04-22-2008, 07:12 PM
  #12  
Senior Member
 
kuppler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Simi Valley, CA
Posts: 2,909
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Anyone using TMaxx shocks on their Viper?


ORIGINAL: perhamrocks


ORIGINAL: kuppler

ORIGINAL: bkfamily1

If so, which dampener are you using - 1, 2 or 3 holes?

Did you use the stock oil that came with them or something different?

What are the preload spacers used for?

Thanks!
Hello,
I have the Tmax Shocks on my RC...Check out the pics.....

you will need to get a bag of 3mmx20mm you can get them from your LHS.
and the spacers come with the TMaxx shocks when you buy them...
here is a link to some shocks on ebay that have the spacers and all.. [link=http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-T-MAXX-3-3-2-5-15-SHOCKS-GRAY-8-COMPLETE-E-TMAXX_W0QQitemZ250234585678QQihZ015QQcategoryZ4402 8QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem]CLICK HERE[/link]
you will have to do a small modification... but its easy......
if you have any questiong about this mod... PM me or Redharris... we will be happy to help you out..
i was able to use the 3x15mm screws that came with it along with the spacers, then for the attachment to the lower arms i just used the screws from my old shocks, i didnt' have to bolt the baterry box on either with these smaller screws. All i did was grind the screw on the battery box down a little, then grind dow the piece of the battery casing that was in the way, they work great.
Here's a video of them in action. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=72KWf8OGXtE
WOW... u were geting some good air ..... Looks like the TMaxx shocks worked good for you...
Old 04-22-2008, 11:37 PM
  #13  
 
Redharris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Panorama, CA
Posts: 2,137
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Anyone using TMaxx shocks on their Viper?

Thats some Nice air you got there Bro!
And Good work fixin up your Truck....
Good Job on that Video too!
Keep em Commin!!!
Old 04-24-2008, 11:52 PM
  #14  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: North Canton, OH
Posts: 741
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Anyone using TMaxx shocks on their Viper?

Finally learned to post photos, so here are a few of the TMaxx shocks. I used some 3mm washers as spacers in addition to the spacers that came with them to get everything to clear. I also got some longer screws so I would not lose strength when adding spacers and losing thread insertion. You also see I copied the change to the receiver case that I saw on some of yours.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Sq48119.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	240.1 KB
ID:	936507   Click image for larger version

Name:	Sn41414.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	204.5 KB
ID:	936508   Click image for larger version

Name:	Xd80686.jpg
Views:	13
Size:	179.1 KB
ID:	936509   Click image for larger version

Name:	Mg98490.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	193.0 KB
ID:	936510  
Old 04-24-2008, 11:53 PM
  #15  
Senior Member
 
Macanan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: New Tazewell, TN
Posts: 1,348
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Anyone using TMaxx shocks on their Viper?

Very nice job on the mods you made looks good
Old 04-24-2008, 11:55 PM
  #16  
Senior Member
 
kuppler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Simi Valley, CA
Posts: 2,909
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Anyone using TMaxx shocks on their Viper?

Looks Good bro... im glad we could help you out...
Old 08-31-2009, 09:38 AM
  #17  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Needville, TX
Posts: 328
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Anyone using TMaxx shocks on their Viper?

I want to know how to do this mod. I have some Tmaxx shocks laying around with nothing to do cause I don't have a Tmaxx and don't know anyone with one right now.
Old 08-31-2009, 10:28 AM
  #18  
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: howard beach, NY
Posts: 16,490
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Anyone using TMaxx shocks on their Viper?

I am pretty sure you just swap them out, take off the old and put the new. 
Old 08-31-2009, 02:23 PM
  #19  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Needville, TX
Posts: 328
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Anyone using TMaxx shocks on their Viper?

I saw something about washers. Someone used new shock towers also. Is that necessary. The washers I can get her at work or Lowes/ Home Depot. I tend to jump my stuff pretty high and all.
Old 08-31-2009, 02:33 PM
  #20  
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: howard beach, NY
Posts: 16,490
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Anyone using TMaxx shocks on their Viper?

you dont have to upgrade the towers, its possible that you will need washers.
Old 08-31-2009, 02:44 PM
  #21  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Needville, TX
Posts: 328
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Anyone using TMaxx shocks on their Viper?

Ok. Thanks. Is there something else besides the Tmaxx shocks? Will Himoto/Redcat shocks work just as well then?
Old 08-31-2009, 03:01 PM
  #22  
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: howard beach, NY
Posts: 16,490
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Anyone using TMaxx shocks on their Viper?

I like the aluminum upgrade shocks.
Old 08-31-2009, 04:31 PM
  #23  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: North Canton, OH
Posts: 741
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Anyone using TMaxx shocks on their Viper?

Dakota,

To mount the TMaxx shocks, I used 3mm washers, 3mm x 20mm (long) socket head cap screws and the spacers that came with the TMaxx shocks. I think you could do it without the longer screws - I used them to be sure I was threaded into the towers plenty far so they would not strip/pull out. Perham mentions in post #10 above that he used the 3x15 screws that came with the TMaxx shocks. You may be able to get away without the washers also - I used them to space the mounts for clearance around the new shocks since they are bigger around than the stock shocks. The only other thing I did was mod the receiver box. If you look at the fourth pic in post #14 above, you will see that I removed the ear near the rear shock where the lid is screwed on the top of the box. However, if you look back in the thread, you will see where Adam did his and did not have to remove that ear. I drilled a hole in the bottom of the box in the corner and in the lid and ran a 4mm screw all the way from the bottom of the box through the lid. I glued the screw in the corner of the box so that I can remove the nylon insert lock nut from the top and take off the lid without needing to get on the head of the screw from the bottom. Bottom line is you jump in start working and adjust as necessary.

Good luck.

Bryan
Old 08-31-2009, 09:02 PM
  #24  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Needville, TX
Posts: 328
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Anyone using TMaxx shocks on their Viper?

Ok. That sounds good. On both ideas.
Old 08-31-2009, 11:43 PM
  #25  
Senior Member
 
chevyderek72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,784
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Anyone using TMaxx shocks on their Viper?

Man kuppler is that a new body? I remember so so long ago you having a body just like that haha.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.