Notices
RC Car General Discussions This forum is for all general discussions related to radio control cars. Check forums below for more specific categories if applicable.

How to find Speed?

Old 07-21-2008, 03:34 PM
  #1  
TRXRUSTLER
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (7)
 
TRXRUSTLER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Port Charlotte, FL
Posts: 407
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How to find Speed?

I was wondering how fast my Rustler went, but I don't have a radar gun so I don't know any other way to find out...................Thanks.
Old 07-21-2008, 03:45 PM
  #2  
guver
Senior Member
My Feedback: (325)
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: LaGrange, OH
Posts: 14,857
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: How to find Speed?

You can time it (distance/time) or maybe plug you numbers into here http://www.scriptasylum.com/rc_speed/_top_speed.html

OR post your specs and someone can guess really close.
Old 07-21-2008, 05:43 PM
  #3  
elf232
Senior Member
 
elf232's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 185
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: How to find Speed?

Just set up a 40 yard run on a parking lot and do the math.
Old 07-21-2008, 06:34 PM
  #4  
TheIronMaiden
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 25
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: How to find Speed?

some gps units can measure speed, if you have one of those you could strap it to your car and see how fast it goes.
Old 07-21-2008, 06:59 PM
  #5  
sloppyG
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: milbrae, SK, BANGLADESH
Posts: 3,538
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: How to find Speed?

distance/time= speed

just make sure to get your units correct
Old 07-25-2008, 01:53 PM
  #6  
nissanlove
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: , FL
Posts: 65
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: How to find Speed?

is it inches/seconds?
Old 07-25-2008, 02:29 PM
  #7  
calvino
Senior Member
 
calvino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 8,958
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: How to find Speed?


ORIGINAL: nissanlove

is it inches/seconds?
that would work to
Old 07-25-2008, 03:21 PM
  #8  
dsales
 
dsales's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,069
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: How to find Speed?


ORIGINAL: calvino


ORIGINAL: nissanlove

is it inches/seconds?
that would work to
are you sure about that?

The official units are:

Speed = m/s (metres/second)

Distace = m (metres)

Time = s (seconds)

ahh, it was the 1st thing i learned in physics...
Old 07-25-2008, 11:22 PM
  #9  
SAVAGEJIM
Senior Member
 
SAVAGEJIM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Torchy the Fiery Fast RC Turtl
Posts: 10,544
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: How to find Speed?

ORIGINAL: dsales


ORIGINAL: calvino


ORIGINAL: nissanlove

is it inches/seconds?
that would work to
are you sure about that?

The official units are:

Speed = m/s (metres/second)

Distace = m (metres)

Time = s (seconds)

ahh, it was the 1st thing i learned in physics...
In the US, we use the British Imperial system (feet, seconds, pound mass). Funny, we dont call it the British Imperial system, we now wrongly call it the "Standard" or "American Standard" system, even though the foot was actually based off of old England's King Henry the 1st (or at least the legend goes). So, it is very funny that the British now use the Napoleonic SI instead of their own British Imperial system. Again, more historical irony, King Lewis (Louis en Francias ) the 16th who made metric system the standard French measurement was killed. The French Republic kept the system, and due to Napoleon's influence, the metric system became the SI and was sperad all over Europe.

Personally, I prefer to calculate most things in SI, speed, as in this discussion, becomes very easy to convert from Km/hr from m/s and so forth. I can even do it mentally without the aid of a pencil & paper. In the British Imperial system, it is much harder, converting from ft/s to mi/hr is much harder. There are 12 stupid inches in a foot (Why cannot it be TEN inches per foot?). King Henry ole #1 should have had his foot cut off by the toes! Then, feet would be much more easier to work with because there would be 10inches to a Henry foot! Worse, there are 5280 surveyed feet in a statute mile! They should have made a concept of a kilo foot, or at least a kilo yard. That way converting from ft/s to mi/hr would be much easier.

Sorry for the rant, this is my beef with the British Imperial system when calculating speeds. I like to do things mentally, but because of the Brit Imp system not being divisible by ten, I have to resort to a calculator, spreadsheet, etc when converting ft/s to mi/hr (or even yd/s to mi/hr)
Old 07-25-2008, 11:23 PM
  #10  
JATO TO THE MAXX
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Garner, IA
Posts: 116
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: How to find Speed?

Or you could just buy the Venom Speed Meter

[link]http://www.venom-group.com/itemdesc.asp?ic=VEN%2D0615[/link]
Old 07-26-2008, 02:34 AM
  #11  
Gex_61
Senior Member
 
Gex_61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: B, CA
Posts: 2,330
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: How to find Speed?

Do it without ever turning your car on.

http://www.teamassociated.com/racerh...ripttable.html
http://www.teamassociated.com/racerh.../gearform.html
Old 07-26-2008, 03:40 PM
  #12  
SAVAGEJIM
Senior Member
 
SAVAGEJIM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Torchy the Fiery Fast RC Turtl
Posts: 10,544
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: How to find Speed?


ORIGINAL: JATO TO THE MAXX

Or you could just buy the Venom Speed Meter

[link]http://www.venom-group.com/itemdesc.asp?ic=VEN%2D0615[/link]
I have one of those, I used it on my R40. Nifty gadget to see how fast a car goes on a straight, but it unfortunately only adds unwanted weight on the track.

My only problems I have with this Speedo is getting the oll-out corect. Then, as the foam on the tires wear down, doing another roll-out to account for the reduced wheel's diameter.
Old 07-26-2008, 03:44 PM
  #13  
SAVAGEJIM
Senior Member
 
SAVAGEJIM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Torchy the Fiery Fast RC Turtl
Posts: 10,544
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: How to find Speed?


Those are very nifty, and I use those very same formulae on an Excel spreadsheet. The only problem with that is the part of the RPM. You really dont know if your car will turn those RPMs unless you actually do some field testing. For example, an engine is advertised to reach 42000RPM (and virtually all RC advertisers are lying snakes). Put high gears on the engine and run that car on the street, wnd you will discover very quickly that the engine simply does not have the torque @ 42000RPM to turn those gears. The engine might reach 35000RP max on those high gears, so the calculated speed at 42000RPM on high gears is moot.
Old 07-26-2008, 05:29 PM
  #14  
sloppyG
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: milbrae, SK, BANGLADESH
Posts: 3,538
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: How to find Speed?


ORIGINAL: nissanlove

is it inches/seconds?

it's whatever you want

you have to convert from whatever distance you time (say 50-100 feet) to miles, and convert the time into hours

you'll get something like (random here) 30 feet/second, figure out how many feet/hour, then convert the feet to miles/hour

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2022 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.