Notices
RC Car General Discussions This forum is for all general discussions related to radio control cars. Check forums below for more specific categories if applicable.

Mamba Max Pro?

Old 07-24-2008, 12:14 AM
  #1  
Metallover
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Metallover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Brandon, SD
Posts: 1,684
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Mamba Max Pro?

Does anyone have some info on the Mamba Max Pro? Does it even exist? The heatsink appears to be different. The thread I got info from was started on another forum by an RCU member which had the small pic in it... Feel free to stand up. Credit goes to him I hope he isn't mad at me. I wonder if it will actually be rated for 4-5s. I hope. The regular Mamba Max is already enough for 1/8th conversions. This should be killer.

Is it just a new batch of the Mamba Max? MM Pro? Real? Fake? Who knows?

I hope this doesn't turn into another Monster Max thing with the release. That is if it even exists.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ec89557.jpg
Views:	43
Size:	5.5 KB
ID:	996525  
Old 07-24-2008, 09:05 AM
  #2  
sloppyG
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: milbrae, SK, BANGLADESH
Posts: 3,538
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Mamba Max Pro?

I doubt very highly it would be rated for higher voltages that's what the MMM is for, and the MMM is cheap


they have been talking about a replacement for the regular MM, and they've been talking about removing the mini usb port from it as well
Old 07-24-2008, 11:47 AM
  #3  
racerj3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: medford, WI
Posts: 409
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Mamba Max Pro?

There is a mamba pro, but its for 1/18th scale apps.
Old 07-24-2008, 12:22 PM
  #4  
Metallover
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Metallover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Brandon, SD
Posts: 1,684
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Mamba Max Pro?

I've looked around, and the New MM Pro (or just new mm) will have a sidewinder type fan-friendly heatsink and will be rated for 5s lipo.
Old 07-24-2008, 01:27 PM
  #5  
sloppyG
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: milbrae, SK, BANGLADESH
Posts: 3,538
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Mamba Max Pro?

if that's true, the MMM must have really been a failure

the MMM would only be good if you need to run 6S then, and plenty of good conversions can be done on 4 or 5s
Old 07-24-2008, 04:21 PM
  #6  
Metallover
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Metallover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Brandon, SD
Posts: 1,684
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Mamba Max Pro?

I want to convert my revo using 4s. A regular Mamba Max will work fine, but it isn't rated for it. People run Mamba Maxes already on 5s. The new ones, by my understanding, have a high voltage cutoff. The old ones don't, and hopefully the ones coming out won't either.
Old 07-24-2008, 10:29 PM
  #7  
Metallover
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Metallover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Brandon, SD
Posts: 1,684
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Mamba Max Pro?

It exists!
http://www.castlespecialprojects.com...ntrollers.html
Old 07-25-2008, 12:08 AM
  #8  
sloppyG
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: milbrae, SK, BANGLADESH
Posts: 3,538
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Mamba Max Pro?

if the esc's like the link, it doesn't work
Old 07-25-2008, 12:16 AM
  #9  
Metallover
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Metallover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Brandon, SD
Posts: 1,684
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Mamba Max Pro?

Whoops. I knew it wasen't my fault. Just take out the space between the s and p. I wonder why it doesnt work...
http://www.castlespecialprojects.com/cs p_reversing_controllers.html

That's it. csp with a _ after it doesnt work. It turns into this: c
Old 03-07-2009, 03:35 AM
  #10  
Never Enough
Senior Member
 
Never Enough's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Brisbane, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 122
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Mamba Max Pro?

I just got a newsletter from Castle asking for Beta testers of the Mamba Max Pro. Apparently it has sensored and sensorless modes with a fan
Old 03-07-2009, 03:38 AM
  #11  
Access
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: , CA
Posts: 4,900
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Mamba Max Pro?

Old news but yeah. I wonder if they are going to be revamping their CM36 motors to be more in line with the 'castle-neu' motors for 1/8th scale.
Old 03-07-2009, 03:47 AM
  #12  
Never Enough
Senior Member
 
Never Enough's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Brisbane, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 122
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Mamba Max Pro?

The ROAR approval of the cm36s opens the current motors to a new market doesn't it ? Would castle make a sensored motor? Tekin has got a heap of bigger sensored (70 mm ) motors on the way.
Old 03-07-2009, 03:59 AM
  #13  
Access
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: , CA
Posts: 4,900
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Mamba Max Pro?

I wasn't thinking sensored or ROAR approval, I mean more like a 1/10th scale 540 can size motor that runs as cool as the 'castle-neu' ones, designed with the same principles and all. 4-pole brushless is not going to the meet the specs for ROAR approval.
Old 03-07-2009, 06:26 AM
  #14  
happywing
Senior Member
 
happywing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Canton, MI
Posts: 1,855
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Mamba Max Pro?

I received the beta-test invite too:
http://www.magnetmail.net/actions/em...roup_id=322251
Old 03-07-2009, 10:26 AM
  #15  
Access
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: , CA
Posts: 4,900
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Mamba Max Pro?

Why do only the plane/heli guys get data logging? Wouldn't data logging be useful for ground vehicles too?
Old 03-07-2009, 02:53 PM
  #16  
redfisher1974
Senior Member
 
redfisher1974's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: PalmerstonOntario, CANADA
Posts: 9,180
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Mamba Max Pro?


ORIGINAL: Access

Why do only the plane/heli guys get data logging? Wouldn't data logging be useful for ground vehicles too?
You would think so....

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2022 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.