Notices
RC Car General Discussions This forum is for all general discussions related to radio control cars. Check forums below for more specific categories if applicable.

What would you use 4-cell packs for?

Old 03-06-2009, 05:02 PM
  #1  
mazdaprotege4
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (32)
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Shakopee, MN
Posts: 970
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What would you use 4-cell packs for?

I have seen some places selling 4 cell packs (4.8v Sub C) batteries. What would they be used for? Is there a special racing class that would use them?

Thanks
Old 03-06-2009, 05:40 PM
  #2  
Chris_RC
Senior Member
 
Chris_RC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Southern California, CA
Posts: 6,912
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: What would you use 4-cell packs for?

Yes, 1/12 pan cars. Here is a link to one example, [link]http://www.rc10.com/ae/12r5/12r5_home.htm[/link]
Old 03-06-2009, 05:42 PM
  #3  
J4K3SHNEG
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sheffield, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 336
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: What would you use 4-cell packs for?

dunno
Old 03-06-2009, 05:46 PM
  #4  
Chris_RC
Senior Member
 
Chris_RC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Southern California, CA
Posts: 6,912
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: What would you use 4-cell packs for?


ORIGINAL: J4K3SHNEG

dunno
That post had absolutitely NO contribution to this thread! If you dont know, dont post. That post will be deleated.
Old 03-07-2009, 03:56 AM
  #5  
Never Enough
Senior Member
 
Never Enough's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Brisbane, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 122
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: What would you use 4-cell packs for?

Some newer brushless motors have so many rpm's per volt that anything over 4 batteries will spin the motor too fast , and yes 1/12 scale racing is the main reason for 4 cell packs
Old 03-07-2009, 05:27 AM
  #6  
mazdaprotege4
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (32)
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Shakopee, MN
Posts: 970
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: What would you use 4-cell packs for?

So here is a follow up question. For those 1/12 pan cars, they dont use stock 540 motors do they? I ask because I just won a huge lot of batteries and some of them are assembled as 4-cell packs.

Thanks
Old 03-07-2009, 06:15 AM
  #7  
J4K3SHNEG
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sheffield, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 336
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: What would you use 4-cell packs for?

Really sorry about that[sm=47_47.gif] i had a moment.
Old 03-07-2009, 08:43 AM
  #8  
mazdaprotege4
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (32)
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Shakopee, MN
Posts: 970
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: What would you use 4-cell packs for?


ORIGINAL: J4K3SHNEG

Really sorry about that[sm=47_47.gif] i had a moment.
Are you just trying to increase your post count or what is the purpose of this post?
Old 03-07-2009, 08:44 AM
  #9  
Willystylz
Senior Member
 
Willystylz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Barrie, ON, CANADA
Posts: 1,934
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: What would you use 4-cell packs for?


ORIGINAL: J4K3SHNEG

Really sorry about that[sm=47_47.gif] i had a moment.
LMAO gave me a good laugh anyway

And since they use 4cell in pan cars what kind of motors to ppl typically run to get any speed out of 4.8V?
Old 03-07-2009, 09:20 AM
  #10  
iggk
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 41
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: What would you use 4-cell packs for?

there are some 1/10 scale pan cars that also use 4 cell. at my local track we run a spec class 1/10 pan car with 4cell and a 21turn brushless. the setup is a little slower than a 6cell sedan but it all comes down to power to weight ratio the 1/12 scale 4 cell 13.5turn brushless is faster than a sedan with 6 cell 13.5 turn brushless.
Old 03-07-2009, 10:17 AM
  #11  
Airbus 9e
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Scottsville , NY
Posts: 746
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: What would you use 4-cell packs for?

10th scale oval carpet racers use them too.....though many have switched to LiPo's now....
Old 03-07-2009, 10:32 AM
  #12  
racerj3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: medford, WI
Posts: 409
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: What would you use 4-cell packs for?

yeah I race 1/10th pan car, we use the 4-cells to race 10.5 brushless or 19t brushed. There are also several other classes of racing that use the 4-cells packs, like 1/12th scasle some of the World GT classes are also 4-cell spec classes.
Old 03-07-2009, 10:55 AM
  #13  
Chris_RC
Senior Member
 
Chris_RC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Southern California, CA
Posts: 6,912
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: What would you use 4-cell packs for?

Also you need a 4 cell pack to power a lathe.
Old 03-07-2009, 11:39 AM
  #14  
kistner
My Feedback: (10)
 
kistner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Beaver, PA
Posts: 1,677
Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
Default RE: What would you use 4-cell packs for?

vintage trans am uses 4 cell too. you could take two of those and have your self a nice 8 cell pack, make an adapter to wire them up in series.
Old 03-07-2009, 07:21 PM
  #15  
i8tweety
My Feedback: (11)
 
i8tweety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Northridge, ON, CANADA
Posts: 4,419
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: What would you use 4-cell packs for?

I use 4 cell packs in my 1/12 scales, 1/10 VTA (vintage trans am), and 1/10 oval pan cars.
Old 03-08-2009, 01:04 PM
  #16  
traxxaspede
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,324
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: What would you use 4-cell packs for?

not sre, but are they used for receivers? or maybe tire warmers or something similar to that that doesn't use a power supply.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2022 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.