Notices
RC Car General Discussions This forum is for all general discussions related to radio control cars. Check forums below for more specific categories if applicable.

Charging my Venom 4600's

Old 08-28-2009, 12:26 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
tommygun32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: San Diego but living in Dubai, UNITED ARAB EMIRATE
Posts: 4,857
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Charging my Venom 4600's

Hey guys.....I'm real @@@@ at getting this right, so any help is highly appreciated.

I'm running two Venom 4600 7.2V NiMH power packs in my OFNA buggy/truggy starter box. I'm charging them with an I-Max B6 digital charger. The directions on the battery box says to charge the stick at 3 amps for extended life or 4 amps for higher performance.

However, when I set the charger to charge at 3.0 amps and press the charge button, the alarm goes off and the display reads charging error. If I set the charging instructions at .3 amps, it charges with no error messages, however, after charging at this rate, the power packs run out of juice after only about 8 uses from the starter box.

What am i doing wrong here??

Thanks again.
Old 08-28-2009, 04:16 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (325)
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: LaGrange, OH
Posts: 14,857
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Charging my Venom 4600's

Lets forget what the box says for now and say that they can be charged at any rate you want. They can be done at .3-6 amps to get full. Which error is the charger showing at 3 amps? I'm not real familiar with the charger. At .3 amps should take 15 hrs.
Old 08-29-2009, 02:31 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
tommygun32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: San Diego but living in Dubai, UNITED ARAB EMIRATE
Posts: 4,857
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Charging my Venom 4600's

If i set it to 3 amps, the message reads 'input volume error'.

The maximum charging time this charger allows though is only 120 minutes. I don't know if it's possible to change this setting as it's never come up as an option.

Thanks again.
Old 08-29-2009, 03:33 AM
  #4  
 
lee172's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Midlands, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 8,217
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Charging my Venom 4600's

i have the Imax B5 and i cant find that fault code in my manual, the nearest i get is an: input voltage error.. is your power supply able to provide the amps needed to charge at the higher rate?
Old 08-29-2009, 04:51 AM
  #5  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
tommygun32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: San Diego but living in Dubai, UNITED ARAB EMIRATE
Posts: 4,857
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Charging my Venom 4600's

I'm using a Vanson Universal changeable Power Adapter. It's plugged into the wall which is 220v here in Dubai. It can be switched from 9v - 24v. Currently set to 12v. which provides a max output of 1.5 amps.

I found out how to switch the 120 minute safety switch off and reset it to 450 minutes maximum.

If I charge each power stick at .3 amps for 450 minutes in 2 sessions, that equals 15 hours charging time.

Should this be a 'constant' charge time or is it OK to break it up into 2 sessions.

Also, on the power stick's charging instructions it says 'do not trickle charge!'. Is the above mentioned method more like trickle charging???

Thanks again
Old 08-29-2009, 05:32 AM
  #6  
 
lee172's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Midlands, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 8,217
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Charging my Venom 4600's

i'd say .3 amps is a trickle, ideally your power supply should be up to your charger's capabiltiy, eg: my charger has a max of 5 amps output and so does my power supply.

or you should be able to charge at 1.5 amps (again, up to the capability of the power supply)

also my power supply is 19v output, maybe upping the voltage (from 12v to 18v) might help?
Old 08-29-2009, 01:42 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
tommygun32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: San Diego but living in Dubai, UNITED ARAB EMIRATE
Posts: 4,857
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Charging my Venom 4600's

I thought these chargers could only take 12V input......is it OK to go higher?

Thanks again
Old 08-29-2009, 04:02 PM
  #8  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (325)
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: LaGrange, OH
Posts: 14,857
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Charging my Venom 4600's

Imax B6 can use 11-18 volts input according to specs.
Old 08-29-2009, 08:12 PM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
OvalRacer99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Watertown, SD
Posts: 618
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Charging my Venom 4600's

When charging any battery, it will need at least as many amps from the power supply as you want to charge at. 1.5 amps is not enough to charge at 3 amps.
If you want to charge at 3 amps, your power supply should have an output of 5 amps or higher as you will need some extra amps to power the charger. I use a 45 amp supply and can run up to 5 chargers without any problem.
Sounds like at that .3 amps with a cutoff of 120 minutes, you are not getting a full charge.
Old 08-29-2009, 08:46 PM
  #10  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (325)
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: LaGrange, OH
Posts: 14,857
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Charging my Venom 4600's

ORIGINAL: tommygun32

I'm using a Vanson Universal changeable Power Adapter. It's plugged into the wall which is 220v here in Dubai. It can be switched from 9v - 24v. Currently set to 12v. which provides a max output of 1.5 amps.

I found out how to switch the 120 minute safety switch off and reset it to 450 minutes maximum.

If I charge each power stick at .3 amps for 450 minutes in 2 sessions, that equals 15 hours charging time.

Should this be a 'constant' charge time or is it OK to break it up into 2 sessions.

Also, on the power stick's charging instructions it says 'do not trickle charge!'. Is the above mentioned method more like trickle charging???

Thanks again
Your ps is probably around 18 watts and can be used for any job up to that point. Maybe 15 watts actual. Dividing the battery voltage gives around a 2 amp max for your 7.2 volt battery. Since the charger can use up to 18 volts then use the max voltage by measurement OR set it to 15-16 to be safe. The ps is still probably around 18 watts at that voltage. Multiply the output voltage by the max current like I did for 12 volts and 1.5 amps.

All things considered you should try 2 amps and if the ps kicks off and/or charger gives error then drop back until it works, you found your new max.
Old 08-30-2009, 03:26 AM
  #11  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
tommygun32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: San Diego but living in Dubai, UNITED ARAB EMIRATE
Posts: 4,857
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Charging my Venom 4600's

Sounds like i need to get a higher amp rated ps....

Thanks guys.
Old 08-30-2009, 11:02 AM
  #12  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
tommygun32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: San Diego but living in Dubai, UNITED ARAB EMIRATE
Posts: 4,857
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Charging my Venom 4600's

Just another quick question....in Dubai like the UK, we're 220V, most plugs are fused at 13amps...so anything over that would be impossible to send to the charger, right?

Thanks again.

Old 08-30-2009, 07:35 PM
  #13  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (325)
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: LaGrange, OH
Posts: 14,857
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Charging my Venom 4600's

Not quite, with 13 amp 220 v you can send far more than 13 amps to a charging setup at lower than 220 voltage. Your set-up probably pulls less than 1 amp on the 220.
Old 09-01-2009, 02:34 PM
  #14  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
tommygun32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: San Diego but living in Dubai, UNITED ARAB EMIRATE
Posts: 4,857
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Charging my Venom 4600's

Thank you very much guys...

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.