Notices
RC Car General Discussions This forum is for all general discussions related to radio control cars. Check forums below for more specific categories if applicable.

Buying my first car. Advice?

Old 04-28-2010, 11:30 AM
mike2121

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Buying my first car. Advice?

Hey guys Im new here and Im new to RC cars as well. I have done some research and it looks like Tamiya and Traxxas are pretty good. So i guess what Im asking for is some advice on what to look for when buying my first car. What would be a model that would be good for me to start with? The buggys look really cool in my opinion but Im not sure if this is something that is good for starters? Budget is around $150 but Im flexible. Any advice to get me going in the right direction?
Old 04-28-2010, 11:38 AM
redfisher1974

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Buying my first car. Advice?

Your going to have to double your budget at least, If you need batteries and a charger etc.
Old 04-28-2010, 11:49 AM
breezerboat

I wouldn't buy anything that's not priced at least $280 new. There will be many other things you need too. To get a decent RC with all the stuff you will need to keep it running, expect to spend $400 minimum.

The biggest advice I could give is to not let yourself get frustrated early on. It takes a few months to figure it all out and how to fix stuff. Stick with it, once you learn it all, you don't break stuff near as much. But do expect to spend a lot more than you could ever imagine. I started about one year ago with a MGT3.0 Monster truck and now I have a $1200 race buggy and two other $500 machines. I only wanted to buy one.... what happened to me????? I wish someone would tell me how to get control of myself. anyone?
Old 04-28-2010, 11:52 AM
john01374

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts